Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Sound Cards & Speakers
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-03-07, 10:44 PM
jackvdbuk jackvdbuk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
remote to control MCE (vista)

i recently got my blackgold TV card and want a way of controlling MEdia centre (or just the TV) with a remote of some sort.

but i dont kno whats godo or bad, the only remote i know of is the MCE 2005 remote (but dont kno where to buy or if its any good), but are there any alternatives? or how do u control MCE through your pc?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-03-07, 10:49 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
http://www.specialtech.co.uk/spshop/...&cat=92&page=1

Thatd do the job i spcet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-03-07, 10:49 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
I have one of the MCE remotes and it's pretty cool, altho I use it with MediaPortal as media center kept on crashing and causing me problems MediaPortal seems a lot better tho
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-03-07, 10:53 PM
jackvdbuk jackvdbuk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
http://www.specialtech.co.uk/spshop/...&cat=92&page=1

this looks exactly the same? but under a differnt brand name?

i also had a look on ebay and some say the ones with the 4 colour buttons is the 'newer' version... but i really do not know
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-03-07, 11:00 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jackvdbuk'
http://www.specialtech.co.uk/spshop/...&cat=92&page=1

this looks exactly the same? but under a differnt brand name?

i also had a look on ebay and some say the ones with the 4 colour buttons is the 'newer' version... but i really do not know
Yer that one looks the same. I'm not sure if it comes with the reciever or not tho

Looks like it's just the remote.
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-03-07, 01:53 AM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
For anyone else considering a media center soon, did you know there was a Linux MCE? Neither did I until today. Looks rather good too.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-03-07, 02:14 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
That one requires the VDF wich is somthing like £80
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-03-07, 12:25 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Personally I like the Microsoft one and at least it'll deffo work with MCE
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-03-07, 11:47 AM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
mce2005 crashed again today might give the linux version a go, but i'm 99% they wont have the available drivers.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-03-07, 09:19 PM
jackvdbuk jackvdbuk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
urs crashed?? oh wait i have it on vista so cant relate, but it certainly hasnt crashed on me yet

i have a uber old PC too... virtually 95% CPU usage 24/7 lol... 100mb ram free of 765mb e.t.c. :P
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.