Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-02-07, 02:04 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
wOOt no IDE

Latest spec replacement pc`s we`re being sent here, equip. with the E6400 etc...

Just went to put a dvdrw into it as a requirement... erm... no IDE ports >.<

Got a floppy port!!

They`re all coming in with SATA opticals only. These are regular desktops, nothing stripped down about them.

Not a big problem here, cept some1 will cry for a few days until an sata optical comes in, but an interesting move nonetheless.

__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-02-07, 02:05 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Aye my Dell @ work has no legacy ports at all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-02-07, 02:08 PM
limqareb limqareb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,908
yep mate i got a dvd SATA just payed lm 2 more that is bout 5 euors and it is great i hate those thick ide cables SATA FTW
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-02-07, 07:15 PM
jackvdbuk jackvdbuk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
think IDE?? :O i have some vantec yellow 45cm cables, looks the biz and much better than the standard red SATA cabling with motherboards....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-02-07, 07:54 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
LONG live IDE!

I am still using IDE for my boot drive!

I don't mind really, I haven't been bothered to upgrade because I have heard there is not much of a performance boost.

Will do one day!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-02-07, 09:46 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Meh. I got SATA HDD, SATA DVD Burner and my Ext HDD is SATA.
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-02-07, 04:11 PM
Sticky Mick Sticky Mick is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 391
I'm curious, what are these mobos without IDE ports?

I thought it'd be the floppy connector to be the first to go.
__________________
If Salvador Dali had a PC, would it have a surreal port?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-02-07, 04:21 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
I`ve just checked again, they have HP etched on them, but they could be made by possibly Foxconn, Intel chipsets. No major mobo labels are obvious other than HP.

Is kind of a strategic pita. Cos the basic pcs, as supplied, just come with DVD roms - now if a department wants a CDrw or DVDrw, they usually have to order it through their department - i.e. they pay for it, not the IT dept. When it comes down to replacing old pcs with new ones, of course the obvious theing is "we`ve already bought a DVD/CDrw.." but they have to buy a new one. Either way the department concerned has to eat it.

Pfft at the present moment in time, we`ve been asked to `kindly avoid the replacements that require them` - but long term they just have to come to terms with the fact that the pc supplier has come up with a nice way of getting more monies off them.

Of course the goods list of the suppliers does-not contain any pci ide cards, converters or similar. Quite clever really.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-02-07, 04:28 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
You can always get an IDE to SATA adapter I guess

I still have a IDE Dual Layer DVD-RW
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-02-07, 04:33 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
You can always get an IDE to SATA adapter I guess

I still have a IDE Dual Layer DVD-RW
Well, strictly speaking, pc hardware parts etc `need`/should go through the pc suppliers - it`s a contract thing, and as I`ve mentioned, they don`t supply them. But they about to supply optical sata devices, at a premium price I might add. (not the £15 u can get an IDE one for I can assure u)

Also the new drives do-not come with audio outputs, that seemed strange to me, although i`ve never seen the need for them myself.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.