Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-02-07, 05:33 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
Friends pc wont boot

He's tried defaulting bios settings and safe mode. Windows loads normally (although hardware profile does come up) then instead of the login screen appearing a blue screen comes up with writing too fast to read, with no escape unless u reboot. This reocurrs!

Thanks from my friend james...

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-07, 05:36 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
when starting up press F8 then select "do not restart on something or other" cant remember the exact wording. that should allow you to the bluescreen.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-07, 05:41 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
Well it doesnt restart itself, u just have to restart as it stays on the screen iirc
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-07, 06:57 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
just reinstall windows, and avoid all the fuss of repairing it, makes life easier for everyone....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-07, 11:22 PM
Deshman Deshman is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 456
You could reinstall it but have you tried safe mode first? If anything else it'll allow you to save your files before you format.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-07, 08:16 AM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
He's tried defaulting bios settings and safe mode.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-02-07, 12:54 AM
Deshman Deshman is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 456
Haha, sorry didn't see that bit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-02-07, 01:18 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='doomie22'
just reinstall windows, and avoid all the fuss of repairing it, makes life easier for everyone....
Amen...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-02-07, 01:21 AM
BigD BigD is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 90
if you need to backup files-

if you have a extra harddrive you can use it to install windows and then drag and drop important files to it

then reinstall windows on the other drive and drp the filesback

i have a old 80gb drive i do this with, i keep all my music/pictures on it JIC something happens and i need to put it back on my main rig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-02-07, 07:41 AM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
before going down the long winded way of backing up data and reinstalling windows, you could try a windows repair.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.