Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-01-07, 03:05 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Any way to extract contents of an EXE?

Hey yall, does anyone know if there's any possible way to extract the contents of an EXE file?

Here's my problem... I'm trying to install CellFactor and it's designed only to be installed under WinXP so I get the error message at the beginning of the installer "You must be running Windows XP to install this software" blah blah.

Well in the past usually I'm able to surf to the temp folder and find the files that the installer extracted so that I can force the actual installer in to WinXP compatibility mode. So far from what I've seen the CellFactor installer doesn't extract those files in to a temp folder, but I do see where it says extracting CellFactor.msi or whatever during the first step setup of cf.exe.

How can I get the files out of the cf.exe file so I can set the CellFactor.msi to WinXP compat mode?

Thx in advance!

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-01-07, 03:21 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Hey yall, does anyone know if there's any possible way to extract the contents of an EXE file?

Here's my problem... I'm trying to install CellFactor and it's designed only to be installed under WinXP so I get the error message at the beginning of the installer "You must be running Windows XP to install this software" blah blah.

Well in the past usually I'm able to surf to the temp folder and find the files that the installer extracted so that I can force the actual installer in to WinXP compatibility mode. So far from what I've seen the CellFactor installer doesn't extract those files in to a temp folder, but I do see where it says extracting CellFactor.msi or whatever during the first step setup of cf.exe.

How can I get the files out of the cf.exe file so I can set the CellFactor.msi to WinXP compat mode?

Thx in advance!
you might have to go into binary level to do that. or you could try once it has finished extracting, leave the installer and search for the cellfactor.msi file. Normally when you close the installer it will delete the files.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-01-07, 03:30 PM
BUFF BUFF is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 276
sometimes WinRAR will.

Guess it depends how it was compiled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-01-07, 03:44 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Is it possible for u to hold the installer at a point where it asks for some user input ? or does it crap out b4 anything like that ?

If there is a point like this, then search u`r whole drive for the file, it`s possible it uses it`s own temp folder location. I`ve had some progs use other partitions b4 now, and not delete them afterwards, most annoying.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-01-07, 05:44 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
thx for the suggestions. winrar is a no go on this one, was the first thing i tried. the only place the extractor stops is at the end telling me i need xp. ive tried leaving that message up and searching for the file but it cant be found. it has to be somewhere right?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-01-07, 06:10 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
U tried sticking it on an XP machine and looking ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-01-07, 06:45 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
It all depends on what program was used to package the EXE mate.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-01-07, 11:19 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BUFF'
sometimes WinRAR will.

Guess it depends how it was compiled.
Ye, WinRAR FTW.
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-01-07, 11:24 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Ye, WinRAR FTW.
Already tried, no luck

There has to be a damn workaround for this installer!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-01-07, 11:38 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Just found a 1337 arse new program that allowed me to get the contents extracted! It's called Universal Extractor and it's bomb-diggity. I suggest it to anyone if they have to pull what i just did....

http://www.legroom.net/modules.php?o...app=uniextract
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.