Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-01-07, 06:19 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
7950GT and PSU

Ok i have a 7950GT Xtreme edition im not using right now and i want to put it to use. I plan on giving this machine i build to my gf as a b-day/V-day/1 year anniversary gift (plus dinner ect). Anyways i plan on putting DFI Lanparty Ultra-D, X2 3800+, 7950GT in a machine together with 2gig of RAM. Only problem is i only have one spare power PSU left and thats an Antec SP 450watt with dual 17amp 12v rails. Thats about 34amps right? Will it hold up for her? She only plays like Quake4, Quake3 and the Sims2(:sleep: ). What do yall think?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-01-07, 07:00 AM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
Should work imo
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-01-07, 07:38 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Give it a go I reckon you should be ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-01-07, 03:59 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Yeah looks ok to me.

Just dont overload it with disk drives.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-01-07, 04:04 PM
markkleb markkleb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,377
I ran my DFI Expert and 7950 with my Silverstone 400. You should be fine
__________________
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-01-07, 04:08 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
If the psu is of a quality, I would chuck it all together and test it with some heavy gaming.

If u don`t get any twilight-zone results, it should be fine.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-01-07, 06:58 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Should work, just not long.

The dreaded F word caps. Just keep your case cool and it should last 1-2 years.
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-01-07, 09:11 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Well she wont have it this way long, and she only has a single HD. Dosent need an optical due to imaging so i imagine it should be ok. (I always keep my cases nice and cool.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-01-07, 09:51 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Good luck on it dude!

Please psot back her with the result..

Im intrested thats all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-01-07, 10:13 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Need to recieve the board first.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.