Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-08-14, 03:56 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,945
ASUS X99 ROG Rampage V Extreme Review



With a new flagship chipset we get a new flagship ASUS motherboard. Welcome to the OC3D Rampage V Extreme review.


ASUS X99 ROG Rampage V Extreme Review

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-08-14, 05:06 PM
overclocker overclocker is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
What is the latency when overclocked in AIDA?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-08-14, 07:48 PM
Kibeloko's Avatar
Kibeloko Kibeloko is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 15
Great review as always, what a wonderful motherboard. I'm a proud Rampage Extremer.

Quote:
"EPIC!" - Tom, 2014
__________________
Honor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-08-14, 10:23 PM
Lonestar166 Lonestar166 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 39
Could Kiss you.

Tommy Tommy Tommy, if you were here and now, I would kiss you.
Thank you for this review, this is what I have been waiting for. And I assure you, the wait was worth it. From across the pond, and from the bottom of my heart, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-08-14, 06:05 AM
lol lol is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 19
I wonder what the motherboard heatsink mounting holes are like for this one compared to other asus X99 motherboards. Wouldn't it be nice and convenient if it turns out they are in the same places meaning you could use something like say a motherboard/cpu combo waterblock that is made for the R5E on all asus X99 motherboards.

If only someone could check to confirm and perhaps even make a video on it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-08-14, 11:21 AM
MiNo MiNo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 9
PCIe layout

Strange: If you fancy a SLI setup - and would like full bandwith to both your cards (PEIe 3.0 x16) - then you are left with zero PCIe slots.

As I understand it, we are on the verge of seeing lots PCie connected storage as new standards have been finalized (NVMe). These require PCIe 3.0 x4 interfaces and that will not be possible on this board if you run SLI.

I doubt storage on the M2 interface will work for desktop users. Firstly, is was designed for laptops/tables in mind - and it does not seem line more than one connector is available on the boards who does have this interface.

So what we we supposed to use, if the SATA 3.0 max of 600 MB/Sec is not enough. PICe storage - that is what.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-08-14, 08:23 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 494
I made it to the end, so where's my cookie?!?! Great video for such a short time frame Tom, but you missed a lot of slides in several places (the long stretch from 22 minutes to 24 minutes was most noticeable). Not a complaint Guv, just a heads up. Great work as usual, especially considering the sleep deprivation you had to endure for it.
__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / AMD 7950 3GB x 2 / Corsair AX750 PS / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA S510 120GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - XSPC Raystorm / GPU1 - Heatkiller /
GPU2 - NexXxoS v2 / 360 rad x 4 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-08-14, 09:01 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
on probation
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNo View Post
Strange: If you fancy a SLI setup - and would like full bandwith to both your cards (PEIe 3.0 x16) - then you are left with zero PCIe slots.

As I understand it, we are on the verge of seeing lots PCie connected storage as new standards have been finalized (NVMe). These require PCIe 3.0 x4 interfaces and that will not be possible on this board if you run SLI.

I doubt storage on the M2 interface will work for desktop users. Firstly, is was designed for laptops/tables in mind - and it does not seem line more than one connector is available on the boards who does have this interface.

So what we we supposed to use, if the SATA 3.0 max of 600 MB/Sec is not enough. PICe storage - that is what.
Good thing PCIe 3.0 x4 interfaces don't exist yet. Only in 2.0. Sata Express is enough for the time being. NVMe won't come out for probably a couple years or more. Standards being finalized is a long way off from designing/manufacturing/testing/back to design/etc..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-08-14, 10:53 PM
MiNo MiNo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 9
Funny you should say that, as I was reading up on Intel Solid-State Drive DC P3500 Series earlier today!

Granted, they are aimed at Data centers, but ofter we see that kinds of tech for desktops soon after. It mentions use of PCIe Gen3 X4 (so what is that, if it does not exist?) and also the new Non-Volatile Memory Express* (NVMe*) storage interface standard.

Check it out at http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...-for-pcie.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-08-14, 05:45 AM
Xrqute's Avatar
Xrqute Xrqute is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 611
Shut up and take my money!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.