Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-11-06, 11:06 AM
cybermaniac cybermaniac is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 576
cabling cabling cabling

hey guys

as alot of you know i have a new case and i still have an appalling cable problem.



is a perfect example

i need to find a way of getting rid of that horrendous mess of IDE cables and give the case a general tidy down as DFI do not provide you with "REAL" rounded cables, just rounded sleeves hence why u can see the evil kinks

btw, temps aren't affected with those cables, but it just looks..........ewwwww

i suppose one thing i could do is use an IDE to SATA converter - such as: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SATA-to-IDE-HD...QQcmdZViewItem

but i dunno if that would be a good way of going about it imho

any and all suggestions will be considered

and no frag......i WONT use a hammer or pliers

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-11-06, 11:28 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Hammer or pliers, when have I ever used those???

First things first, you need new IDE cables, LONG ones. So go and get some in your preferred color, as long as you can find them. Same goes for the floppy cable, get yourself a true round cable, and make it long.

While you're shopping, by some 4pin molex extension cables, I would probably get four or five, they're cheap.

Next thing, are zipties which it looks like you have. Get more if you need them, I buy black ties in 100 packs for like $.99 / pack. Along with the zipties you need the hold-downs for them. They're square pieces of plastic with a loop in the middle for your tie to go through and have an adhesive sticky back for mounting.

Start off by getting that stuff, then we'll look at where we want to route some of these hideuos cables
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-11-06, 11:44 AM
cybermaniac cybermaniac is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 576
at the moment im running alot of the zip ties thru the motherboard mounting holes (the ones designed for bigger motherboards), ive just made those holes bigger by using a dremel.

ill pop down to my local DIY shop and get some hold-downs.

and i just tease my friend :P
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-11-06, 11:52 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
If you havea dremel then I highly suggest modding your mobo tray to allow for behind-mobo cable routing. One of the best ways to get rid of unsightly cables.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-11-06, 12:29 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
thought about making your own cables? Scalple the normal type and braid (or selotape if you cheap like me) them together. They end up much Thinner than any retail cable. I might have some pictures somewhere...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-11-06, 12:29 PM
cybermaniac cybermaniac is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
If you havea dremel then I highly suggest modding your mobo tray to allow for behind-mobo cable routing. One of the best ways to get rid of unsightly cables.
mmmm very good point - i might do that once i order some ac-ryan cables
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-11-06, 06:02 PM
cybermaniac cybermaniac is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 576
well ac-ryan cables on order - should arrive tomorrow.

2x 60cm IDEs and 1x floppy cable 30cm
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-11-06, 06:47 PM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Doesn't look *that* bad, just needs some tidying/hiding tbh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
thought about making your own cables? Scalple the normal type and braid (or selotape if you cheap like me) them together. They end up much Thinner than any retail cable. I might have some pictures somewhere...
It's probably easier to just remove the covering off the ones he's already got, and re-arrange them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-11-06, 09:41 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phnom_Penh
Doesn't look *that* bad, just needs some tidying/hiding tbh.

It's probably easier to just remove the covering off the ones he's already got, and re-arrange them.
Argeed. But its less fun.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-11-06, 08:01 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Deffo needs a tidy up cybermaniac Have you ever thought of making yourself a customised loom for your rig?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.