Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-11-06, 01:34 PM
Charlie Wetherall Charlie Wetherall is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Problems when using a mixture of SATA and IDE HDD's

Hiya

I have a ASUS P5LD2 Delux motherboard and have 2 HDD's. A SATA HDD which I Boot off and has the Windows operating system installed on and an IDE HDD which will be for data. My problem is that as soon as I plug in the IDE HDD the system tries to boot off it and won't give me the option to boot off the SATA HDD.

Has anyboby got any suggestions as to how I should configure this correctly.

FYI - there are three IDE connectors on the motherboard:

The Primary IDE Connector - If I use this connector for my IDE HDD then it gives me the problem as described above

2 x ITE RAID Connectors: In the manual as does say that these devices are set to IDE Mode by default. In IDE mode you should be able to connect IDE devices. However if I use one of these connectors for my IDE HDD - I can't see the drive in Windows.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-11-06, 01:39 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
I'm not totally sure about your specific motherboard, but on my ASUS there is an option in the BIOS to switch between what hard disk in the system has priority.

I would find out the exact option, but it'll be a few hours before i can get home and fire up the beast .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-11-06, 02:55 PM
Charlie Wetherall Charlie Wetherall is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-11-06, 05:19 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Wirelessly posted (LG Fusic: Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/2.0.4719/1378; en; U; ssr))

in the bios u should be able to set the order in which the computer tries to use as the boot drive, do u have that configured correctly? and have u checked to see if ur ide drive is displayed in the logical disk manager in windows?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-11-06, 03:29 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Charlie Wetherall'
However if I use one of these connectors for my IDE HDD - I can't see the drive in Windows.
lack of drivers perhaps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.