Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-11-06, 10:51 AM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Intel 3200Mhz 540j VS Intel 3200Mhz 541

Last night I was asked by a member of the family if I would build a Intel system as cheap as possible for them and the price they want to spend on the CPU is around £70 max.

They are interested in buying the Intel 541 I own the Intel 540J and they seem impressed with the speed.

Does anyone know what the difference between these two CPU's are?

What one is better and why as they are the same 3.2Ghz?

Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-06, 10:56 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I aint got time to look but is one HT and one non-HT?

If I were building a budget rig for a family member I'd deffo go AMD A64 - very cheap and far more value for money
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-06, 11:00 AM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kempez
I aint got time to look but is one HT and one non-HT?

If I were building a budget rig for a family member I'd deffo go AMD A64 - very cheap and far more value for money
I THINK you might be right with the 541 supporting HTT. But I would go with what kemp said and get an athlon 64 system, if you check out the thread started by ham, hes just built an entire pretty-decent PC for £200 although it is sempron based
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-06, 11:01 AM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
They will be playing games on the machine but there main work will involve a lot of multitasking.

I did just find a AMD Athlon 64 (ADA3700BNBOX) 3700 CPU Skt 939 San Diego Retail for under £70 do you know if these any good for multitasking?

Just had a look and it seems that the 541 has Intel® 64 and the 540J dosen't not sure what Intel® 64 is though?

But they both have Hyper-Threading.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-06, 11:28 AM
Nagaru Nagaru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinc
They will be playing games on the machine but there main work will involve a lot of multitasking.

I did just find a AMD Athlon 64 (ADA3700BNBOX) 3700 CPU Skt 939 San Diego Retail for under £70 do you know if these any good for multitasking?

Just had a look and it seems that the 541 has Intel® 64 and the 540J dosen't not sure what Intel® 64 is though?

But they both have Hyper-Threading.
A 3700+ is no slouch, but depending on your definition of "a lot" a dual core may be better. Intel 64 is Intel's 64 bit extensions to the X86 instruction set.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-06, 11:34 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
How heavy is the multi-tasknig? Is it watching a video whilst surfing or is it like having the Macromedia Suite open whilst photoshopping, listening to iTunes, surfing the web and on MSN?

If it's heavy loading on multi-tasking you're better off with a native dual core like an X2 or Core2Duo

If it's lighter use like the 1st example then an A64 will do you proud.

As for the J - ye it appears to be the addition of 64bit support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-06, 12:04 PM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Its more like the second one as they want to do a lot of video editing Etc.

My problem is they only have £70 to spend on the CPU max. All there old stuff has to be replaced, motherboard, CPU, memory, PSU, video card, they might keep there case and there on a very small budget for all.

I worked it out that all they have to spend is.

CPU = £70 Intel 541 or a D 805 (overclocked) ?

Motherboard = £40 MSI 945GZM3-L ?

PSU = £23 ???

Video card = £30 ???

Memory = £80 Crucial CT6472Z40B x 2?

I said I would, but why me. Any ideas would be really appreciated?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-06, 12:09 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
If their doing video editing you might wanna increase the budget of that a bit

And the PSU budget is too low imo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-06, 12:09 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
The Pentium D 805 is a great cheap chip for the price, that's the uber cheap P4 dually isn't it? I've heard awesome things about it, i'd probably recommend that seeing as it looks that you may actually need the true dual core for what your client plans to do.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-06, 10:19 AM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Looks like I will have to try and keep to there budget.

What do you think about this?

It is all within budget.

Motherboard MSI K8NNeo4.F SKT939 = £43.91

CPU AMD (Venice) Athlon 64 3800+ = £69.73

Memory Crucial 512mb = £41.51

Video used ATI X550 256mb 64mb Vram PCI-E = £20

Hard drive Seagate ide ATA 160gb = £39.68

What do you think about the above setup for what they need?

PSU cheap as possible to run this, have you got any suggestions please?

Apologies for asking about AMD stuff in a Intel thread.

Thanks

zinc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.