Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-10-06, 05:25 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Wirelessly posted (LG Fusic: Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/2.0.4719/1378; en; U; ssr))

just curious as to what i can expect in the oc department with my new c2d on an aw9d max with some d9 memory? possible to forge into the 4ghz domain perhaps? i dunno u all tell me.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-10-06, 05:35 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
I'd expect around 3.8ghz on the chips circulating at the mo mate. U may be lucky and hit the jackpot - but after owning an E6600 an X6800ES and an E6700 none of them have been stable at over 3.9ghz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-10-06, 05:40 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Wirelessly posted (LG Fusic: Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/2.0.4719/1378; en; U; ssr))

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
I'd expect around 3.8ghz on the chips circulating at the mo mate. U may be lucky and hit the jackpot - but after owning an E6600 an X6800ES and an E6700 none of them have been stable at over 3.9ghz
well phooey! maybe ill get the equivalent of my old 2.8ghz air stable super winnie, that would be golden luck.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-10-06, 06:31 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I got 3600GHz stable on mine, but a lot of volts was needed
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-10-06, 10:29 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Stick it under the cascade when you get it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-10-06, 11:47 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Stick it under the cascade when you get it
That was kinda another reason I picked up the board and proccy, knowing that some day I might receive my uber cascade that wants to rape the face off of that E6600
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-06, 05:20 PM
DanielDev DanielDev is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
too bad, was hoping it would OC over 4ghz (still a magical number )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-06, 05:54 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Wirelessly posted (LG Fusic: Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/2.0.4719/1378; en; U; ssr))

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='DanielDev'
too bad, was hoping it would OC over 4ghz (still a magical number )
same here, no such luck this go around.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-06, 10:58 PM
kimandsally kimandsally is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='DanielDev'
too bad, was hoping it would OC over 4ghz (still a magical number )
Hey every time I buy a Lottery ticket I hope to win the jackpot but I have had 3 tenners this year!!

Seriously though I think 4GHZ is not going to happen unless you use exoctic cooling, mine will do around 3.7GHZ at a real push with good water cooling not fully stable either.
__________________
Kentsfield Q6600

Asus Maximus

Kingston HyperX 8500 DDR2 2GB (thanks OC3D)

Thermochill PA120.3 3x panaflo,

D Tek Fuzion, Maze 4 GPU

ATI X1900XT

Corsair 620HX

2 X Samsung 500GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-06, 11:29 PM
NoL NoL is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,441
Yeah AIR/WATER won't get you 4ghz anymore, feels like we're playing the old northwood fighting game. Proper TEC, phase, temporary will get you it though.
__________________


Send me your food.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.