Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-03-14, 06:42 AM
Hayscib Hayscib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Fault NEED HELP

Hi everyone

I'm building a new system and sadly enough I found a fault. Do anyone knows or tried the Asus Z9pe-D8 WS motherboard with Xeon v2 version with corsair dominator 1866 ram ? I saw Toms you tube clip using this motherboard without ecc memory.

My problem is that the pc is switching on but No post beeps nothing and nothing willl appear on screen. Monitor says no signal. If I remove all ram there will be a 2 fast beeps every 1 sec. I tried removing the battery and re start but nothing.
I tried the mother board with one cpu and it will switch on but now cannot access bios... Possible with all the restart that I gave it ??

Please oc3d forum help me I need helppp.

Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-03-14, 08:45 AM
Whiskers Whiskers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 116
Is it running a bios that will support the V2 CPU's?
__________________
| i5 3570k @ 4.3GHz 1.21v | 2x8GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz | Corsair HX850 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | GTX 670 SLI | Asus Xonar Essence STX | 2x 256GB Samsung 830 RAID 0 | Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B | Corsair SP120 QE's | NZXT H440 White | Ducky Zero Shine Cherry MX Brown | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | 3x LG 22EA63 |

Coming soon: full custom watercooling
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-03-14, 08:48 AM
Hayscib Hayscib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskers View Post
Is it running a bios that will support the V2 CPU's?
To tell you the truth i don't know as i cannot access the bios to update it or anything. Can I update the bios without installing an OS because that was planned after I install the OS.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-03-14, 09:01 AM
Whiskers Whiskers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 116
It looks like the V2 CPU's are only supported from BIOS release 5103 onwards. From what I can see it looks like there is no way to update the BIOS without being able to boot the system. It looks like you'll have to get hold of a V1 CPU to use to update the BIOS.
__________________
| i5 3570k @ 4.3GHz 1.21v | 2x8GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz | Corsair HX850 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | GTX 670 SLI | Asus Xonar Essence STX | 2x 256GB Samsung 830 RAID 0 | Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B | Corsair SP120 QE's | NZXT H440 White | Ducky Zero Shine Cherry MX Brown | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | 3x LG 22EA63 |

Coming soon: full custom watercooling
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-03-14, 09:07 AM
Hayscib Hayscib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskers View Post
It looks like the V2 CPU's are only supported from BIOS release 5103 onwards. From what I can see it looks like there is no way to update the BIOS without being able to boot the system. It looks like you'll have to get hold of a V1 CPU to use to update the BIOS.
OMG how on earth I'm going to get V1 xeons.. i going to shoot myself.

how on earth Tom used the 2697v2 on the same motherboard without having the same problem?..

How can i find out what bios version it is running?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-03-14, 09:12 AM
Whiskers Whiskers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayscib View Post
How can i find out what bios version it is running?

Thanks
I don't think you can without being able to boot it. Unless it says somewhere on the board or in paperwork?
__________________
| i5 3570k @ 4.3GHz 1.21v | 2x8GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz | Corsair HX850 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | GTX 670 SLI | Asus Xonar Essence STX | 2x 256GB Samsung 830 RAID 0 | Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B | Corsair SP120 QE's | NZXT H440 White | Ducky Zero Shine Cherry MX Brown | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | 3x LG 22EA63 |

Coming soon: full custom watercooling
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-03-14, 09:25 AM
Hayscib Hayscib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Thank you for your feedback.. but i wish you are wrong because i do not afford to get a another cpu.

I wish somebody else will tell me other options that i can try but on the other hand thank you for your fast response and feedback possible it is as you are saying.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-03-14, 12:10 PM
Whiskers Whiskers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayscib View Post
Thank you for your feedback.. but i wish you are wrong because i do not afford to get a another cpu.

I wish somebody else will tell me other options that i can try but on the other hand thank you for your fast response and feedback possible it is as you are saying.
I've had a look and it's possible to get a dual core xeon for £150 which you could then sell on after. Or another option is to try and find someone who has one you could borrow or if a local computer shop has one.

It also might be possible to buy a BIOS chip with the supporting BIOS pre-loaded onto it. Try looking on ebay, try here http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BIOS-CHIP-...item589b08bb12
__________________
| i5 3570k @ 4.3GHz 1.21v | 2x8GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz | Corsair HX850 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | GTX 670 SLI | Asus Xonar Essence STX | 2x 256GB Samsung 830 RAID 0 | Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B | Corsair SP120 QE's | NZXT H440 White | Ducky Zero Shine Cherry MX Brown | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | 3x LG 22EA63 |

Coming soon: full custom watercooling
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-03-14, 12:30 PM
Hayscib Hayscib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskers View Post
I've had a look and it's possible to get a dual core xeon for £150 which you could then sell on after. Or another option is to try and find someone who has one you could borrow or if a local computer shop has one.

It also might be possible to buy a BIOS chip with the supporting BIOS pre-loaded onto it. Try looking on ebay, try here http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BIOS-CHIP-...item589b08bb12
THANK you for your search and feedback. Contacted the seller to check what latest version of bios he have for that motherboard.

xeons in my country are rare and always on-order. we'll see if Facebook will make a miracle and find me somebody that would let me borrow a xeon.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-03-14, 01:47 PM
Whiskers Whiskers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayscib View Post
THANK you for your search and feedback. Contacted the seller to check what latest version of bios he have for that motherboard.

xeons in my country are rare and always on-order. we'll see if Facebook will make a miracle and find me somebody that would let me borrow a xeon.
No problem at all. I hope you get it running soon. I always love to see these dual CPU rigs
__________________
| i5 3570k @ 4.3GHz 1.21v | 2x8GB Corsair Vengence 1600MHz | Corsair HX850 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | GTX 670 SLI | Asus Xonar Essence STX | 2x 256GB Samsung 830 RAID 0 | Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B | Corsair SP120 QE's | NZXT H440 White | Ducky Zero Shine Cherry MX Brown | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | 3x LG 22EA63 |

Coming soon: full custom watercooling
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.