Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs

Old 13-03-14, 09:40 PM

First build - Bitfenix Phenom MATX build

Greetings! So, I'm not particularly experienced with this sort of thing but I figured I would put together a project log of (technically) my first full build.

To give a little backstory, I'm a graphic designer, I've had a Macbook Pro for about 5 years and an upgrade is long overdue

I chose to go with MATX mostly because I really like the look and form factor of Bitfenix's Phenom. I'm more comfortable with the general layout of Micro ATX as opposed to Mini ITX which is why I decided to go that way.

To be totally honest, going into this I knew it wouldn't be an easy build because of the form factor and it doesn't help that I don't really know what I'm doing. But, having said that, if I'm going to have troubles and it's a tricky build, my mistakes will probably be helpful for anyone wanting to build in this case.

Rig Specs:

i5-4670K
Corsair H80i
Gigabyte H87M-D3H
Kingston V300 240GB SSD
EVGA GTX760 ACX
Kingston HyperX 2x4GB
Corsair CX500M
Bitfenix Phenom MATX

Extras:

Asus VN247H 23" LED monitor
Razer Deatherstalker Ultimate
Razer Naga 2014

Had a few shipping problems due to where I live so there are a couple of pictures I forgot to take, you'll have to forgive me

Had to buy a Samsung external disk drive so I could install my OS, I'll probably only use the damn thing once but it was pretty reasonably priced and the most convenient way of installing my OS for me

Had a bit of a goof here, at first I unscrewed the plastic that holds HDDs and I foolishly tried to slide it off and was confused when I realised it can't slide off.
I totally was not aware that you literally had to bend it off which I didn't think to do because man-handling it was the last thing on my mind.