Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-10-06, 06:49 AM
TJS TJS is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 391
CPU-Z and Vigor Monsoon II HSF vs mobo

Hello, everyone... got a couple questions.

1) CPU-Z seems to give a couple false readings, the first being my vcore at 1.163V, rather than +/-1.4V, have no idea why. The uGuru program with my ABIT AW9D reports just over 1.4V, why isn't CPU-Z?



2) As you can see, I don't get a processor selection as well. I looked at one of Kempez's screenshots, and noticed that his/hers does... what gives??

I have the latest BIOS installed, so I'm at a loss... Any/ all help is welcome. (I haven't Prime95 the current cpu-z screenshot, but 3.48GHz/387FSB held up for an hour and a half, will post when I get the final tweaking in.)

Almost forgot... the Monsoon II HSF comes with a front panel that displays the temperature, but has about a 15 degree difference with what the uGuru shows, the uGuru showing higher. Thoughts?

Thanks, -TJS

__________________
/-ŻoOk~aĐOoK, CoD4 PC Clan Member/S&D (TDM when solo)

The New Rig: FTASM-Interceptor

by Faster Than A Speeding Mullet

NZXT Zero

Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.5GHz (389FS, Vigor Monsoon II

ABIT AW9D

EVGA 8800GTS @ 580/920

G.Skill DDR2-800 1GBx2 (5-5-5-15/30)

PC/P&C 1KW

Samsung Spinpoint SATA 3Gs 160GB x3, RAID 0

------------------------------------------------

don't have to be the smartest, just gotta know how to read...:anisx:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-10-06, 09:49 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
1) CPU-Z voltage support on Conroe seems to be totally broken. It says my voltages are 1.20v but they are actually 1.6v.

2) Are you running the latest version from their site?

As for the monsoon, i would say that probably has better temp readings than the Abit's. Your best bet would be to go for an average of both.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-06, 02:40 AM
TJS TJS is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 391
XMS: If the #2 question is aimed at my BIOS version, the answer is yes, driver date 9/15/06 (haven't looked in the last week or so, will look in a moment). If it's about CPU-Z, the answer is yes as well, version 1.37.

Right now I'll lean toward the uGuru temp reading, since I do have everything jacked up so high... no matter how much case aircooling/TEC HSF cooling I have, although an average of the two is probably the best bet.

One thing I noticed in the BIOS is the 'Thermal Monitor', set for either 1, which denotes 'on die controller', or 2, which is 'ratio & vid'... and has voltages set in #2 as .875, or thereabouts. This may account for the voltage being read in CPU-Z as 1.63V (1.64 is closer to .875x2, but it's a theory). Why it would read this, I still don't know.

Thanks for the reply, XMS, lets me know I'm not crazy and that the Z may not be ready for Conroe/ABIT.

TJS

Edit: Scratch the theory, the Z reads 1.163V, which is way less than 1.63, even if the Thermal Monitor was .8375V (maybe I haven't been drinking enough beer of late...)
__________________
/-ŻoOk~aĐOoK, CoD4 PC Clan Member/S&D (TDM when solo)

The New Rig: FTASM-Interceptor

by Faster Than A Speeding Mullet

NZXT Zero

Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.5GHz (389FS, Vigor Monsoon II

ABIT AW9D

EVGA 8800GTS @ 580/920

G.Skill DDR2-800 1GBx2 (5-5-5-15/30)

PC/P&C 1KW

Samsung Spinpoint SATA 3Gs 160GB x3, RAID 0

------------------------------------------------

don't have to be the smartest, just gotta know how to read...:anisx:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-06, 09:17 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Sorry - my bad. I actually meant CPUZ version - but i can see from the screenie that ur running 1.37.

I've got a board here with uguru, if i get a chance i'll see how accurate the readings are on that one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-10-06, 09:21 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I've had several board with uGuru and it's a pretty accurrate program
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-06, 11:11 PM
TJS TJS is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 391
Update: After uploading the beta BIOS '13', my uguru temp reading at idle is now within 7C of my HSF's front panel... much better.

...now I gotta remember to compare them at load or close to...
__________________
/-ŻoOk~aĐOoK, CoD4 PC Clan Member/S&D (TDM when solo)

The New Rig: FTASM-Interceptor

by Faster Than A Speeding Mullet

NZXT Zero

Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.5GHz (389FS, Vigor Monsoon II

ABIT AW9D

EVGA 8800GTS @ 580/920

G.Skill DDR2-800 1GBx2 (5-5-5-15/30)

PC/P&C 1KW

Samsung Spinpoint SATA 3Gs 160GB x3, RAID 0

------------------------------------------------

don't have to be the smartest, just gotta know how to read...:anisx:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.