Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-02-14, 11:13 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,362
How many watts does your system actually need?



Since many people buy PSUs way bigger than they'll ever need, we show you just how many watts systems actually require.


Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-02-14, 11:24 AM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,466
Is there supposed to be a link here Tom?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-02-14, 11:26 AM
Watsyerproblem's Avatar
Watsyerproblem Watsyerproblem is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remmy View Post
Is there supposed to be a link here Tom?
He only places the link after the article or review is on the main site, no point linking to nothing.

I'm surprised you haven't noticed this before.
__________________
Have a look at the OC3D News Section, written by the community for the community
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-02-14, 11:27 AM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
He only places the link after the article or review is on the main site, no point linking to nothing.

I'm surprised you haven't noticed this before.
Oh right I see, I assumed the post would have been made afterwards, my bad. I've never seen it happen before so I guess I'm never on it quick enough to see
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-02-14, 11:28 AM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is online now
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge,UK
Posts: 4,132
Most people buy bigger power supplies under the belief they'll upgrade later on then never actually do. Its what I've done as I want to get another 280x. Will I actually ever get another one? I dunno. I kinda went overboard for the psu regardless as the system would probably pull about 525w from estimations I've seen.
__________________
Rigs: Spur (inwin 901, gtx 780ti,i7 4770k) Coming soon|Herman (pentium G3258,custom loop)|Octobox (8320@4.2ghz, Asus 280x@ 1110/1500mem)
Laptops: Lenovo yoga pro|Lenovo X61s
OC3D starcitizen group Join today!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-02-14, 11:34 AM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,466
Anyway, eye-opening video and educational video, but some people just like overkill anyway I guess
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-02-14, 11:38 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remmy View Post
Oh right I see, I assumed the post would have been made afterwards, my bad. I've never seen it happen before so I guess I'm never on it quick enough to see
Need a forum thread before I can put the review live fella.....
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-02-14, 11:43 AM
ShaunB-91's Avatar
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
FAP King
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 2,923
O.o AX860 is hibernating, or at least half of it.

Edit: Off topic but your taking care of your desks Tom, isn't there some sort of wrap or something that you can stick on to protect them, just like a clear plastic?
__________________
Corsair 550D - Intel Core i5 4670K - Gigabyte G1. Sniper M5 - 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1600MHz - EVGA GTX 780 Classified - Corsair AX860 - OCZ Vertex 4 128GB x2 - Corsair H100i - Corsair Pre-Braided White Cables - 2x Corsair SP120 Quiet Editions on Rad - 2x Corsair AF120 White LED Case Fans - Looking to Sell MSI Twin FrozR III 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-02-14, 11:50 AM
Watsyerproblem's Avatar
Watsyerproblem Watsyerproblem is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,919
Great video and write up there, buying a good quality unit should always be the top priority for any build.

The power draw for components are getting pretty darn low, just look at the 750Ti pulling a stupidly low 60w of power, amazing work there Nvidia!

That being said I have helped people who have had oversized PSUs burn on them and it isn't pretty, good thing OCZ don't make PSUs anymore.

I currently run a CM 1000w PSU for a setup that simply does not need it, but it got me away from my old OCZ PSU so I'm happy.
__________________
Have a look at the OC3D News Section, written by the community for the community
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-02-14, 11:59 AM
Messy_Blob Messy_Blob is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
I went for a 750 RM PSU, which was a much higher wattage than I strictly needed, because the power rating only really applies when new. Over say 5-8 years (my typical upgrade cycle) the capacitors degrade, and cannot deliver their rated power. If I can find the technical article that states a 45% degradation to the power delivery over 5 years, I'll come back and edit this post.
Also, I was given a GTX-570, which is far less efficient than say an equivalently-performing 660Ti, slightly better 760, or future 850. I have my power supply top-mounted (in a 2006 NXT MIDI tower), so it takes in the air heated by the 570. Having the thermal headroom in the PSU avoids operating difficulties.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.