Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-10-06, 10:31 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
Temps are higher then normal

For some reason yesterday and today my temps have been higher then normal. What are some reasons besides the obvious that they would be high?

__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-10-06, 10:54 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
somthing obstructing airflow?

room tempriture higher?

stressing the cpu more?

stressing anything more?

...could be any number of things
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-10-06, 10:57 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
virus / application running in the background increasing cpu load.

dust

higher room temperature

voltage increases (unlikely unless you did it)

PSU being under higher load and so slowing fans down (if that can happen)

ummm......
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-10-06, 10:57 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
It's not the top two but idk if its the bottom two. I haven't changed anything that i know of that would stress it anymore. It's not a virus or anything because i did all the scans i have to get rid of them. I'm not sure if it an application but i have checked and i cant find anything ad-normal. Also for some reason when its idle its around 30 and then when i put on music or start to use the internet it rises to the high 30's. It's never done this before.
__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-10-06, 12:52 PM
Sticky Mick Sticky Mick is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 391
Dust build up around the heatsink/fan?

Most soundcards use some CPU time, which could explain the rise when listening to CDs.

My AMD rig did that once, when I had it sitting on the floor. The temps used to be around 37degs at idle. As the months went by they slowly crept up to around 45-50. So I removed the fan and dusted between the fins of the heatsink, then things went back down to 37degs.

I was running the stock HS/fan tho.

Never noticed any change when browsing tho, but then again I never looked.
__________________
If Salvador Dali had a PC, would it have a surreal port?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-10-06, 04:00 AM
tuco tuco is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
It could have been a power surge that damaged your hardware. Try opening up the case first to check for obvious things, like dust, or something jamming a fan. Look and see if all of the fans that are supposed to be always spinning (not thermally activated) are working. Also, does it take time for the temperature to rise to that point? Or does it start off higher, which could mean a damaged thermal probe.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-10-06, 01:24 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
I would just give it a clean out.

Get rid of all the dust that has landed in annoying places.

Then give your CPU some more Thermal geese.

That should rule out the option for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-10-06, 02:15 PM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxcity
I would just give it a clean out.

Get rid of all the dust that has landed in annoying places.

Then give your CPU some more Thermal geese.

That should rule out the option for sure.
u ahve no idea how much i laughed when i imagined "thermal geese"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-10-06, 02:39 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dav0s'
u ahve no idea how much i laughed when i imagined "thermal geese"
ROFL!

But yea, depending on what thermal geese you had on it before, the geese could have dried out. Applying some fresh geese should help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-10-06, 04:55 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Ops!

heh, nice spelling hey?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.