Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-10-06, 12:19 PM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Prices For Intel Quad-Core Desktop CPUs Available

Looking at going quad-core next month when Intel release them? We hope you have deep pockets! Feel free to discuss the release prices below...

Link to the news article

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-10-06, 12:27 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Tiz a wee bit higher than what I had expected for the initial release of quad cores, but you can bet your friggin' arse that I'll be gettin' one once the prices start to drop a bit, or they release some lower end chips. 4 x F@H = sex.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-10-06, 03:48 PM
Gibbs Gibbs is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 64
very costly indeed but ill wait untill they bring out true quad-core
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-10-06, 03:55 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Wirelessly posted (LG Fusic: Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/2.0.4719/1374; en; U; ssr))

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Gibbs'
very costly indeed but ill wait untill they bring out true quad-core
yeah im not a big fan of the dual die setup myself either.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-10-06, 06:00 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
I don`t know, does software, outside of industry stuff, take full advantage of this sorta thing ?

I know something as simple as Fifa only uses one core - just as an example for a home use.

I know desktopwize u can set allegences to cores, don`t know if the average user is down with this or maybe the OS should do this itself. That`d be interesting.

Today I still feel that when PCWorld would sell an x2 or dual core, it`d be just as a basis for spinning up the price of the system.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-10-06, 06:17 PM
Gibbs Gibbs is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 64
not a lot of software for the home user will make use of dual core enver mine quad core but sooner or later it will be the norm for software to be multi-cpu hard coded.

@FragTek: the whole idea behind this dual die setup is just to beat AMD to the punch. intle know people will buy them so they will make them. But untill native quad core hits the market then i wont be spending the cash on it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-10-06, 06:38 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
you have to remember that hardware has to progress quicker and stay in front of software. More and more programs that are being coded as we speak make use of more than one core. It's just the way things are going.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-10-06, 07:01 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Wirelessly posted (LG Fusic: Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/2.0.4719/1374; en; U; ssr))

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibbs
not a lot of software for the home user will make use of dual core enver mine quad core but sooner or later it will be the norm for software to be multi-cpu hard coded.

@FragTek: the whole idea behind this dual die setup is just to beat AMD to the punch. intle know people will buy them so they will make them. But untill native quad core hits the market then i wont be spending the cash on it.
agreed, single die quad core will be where its at. more than likely will be less expensive at launch as well since the majority of the qc hype will have faded.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-10-06, 07:02 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
mmmm...quad core in any form
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-10-06, 08:22 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
it would be nice to have 8 cores in anyway shape or form serious folder
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.