Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-12-13, 07:54 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,399
BattleField 4 Performance AMD vs Nvidia



We put the R9 270X 280X 290 290X and the GTX770 GTX780 & GTX780 Ti head to head in BF4 to see what all the fuss has been about.


Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-13, 08:05 AM
ShaunB-91's Avatar
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
FAP King
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 2,966
For how good the game looks it's surprising how well GPU's can handle it. I was biting my nails and clenching my arse when I first got the beta hoping that my 7970 could run it and was shocked/eroused/chuffed when it was getting a connstant 60fps, even jumping to the 90's on occasions, and it seems to run even better on the full release of the game.

The only issue now is the bugs!
__________________
Corsair 550D - Intel Core i5 4670K - Gigabyte G1. Sniper M5 - 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1600MHz - EVGA GTX 780 Classified - Corsair AX860 - OCZ Vertex 4 128GB x2 - Corsair H100i - Corsair Pre-Braided White Cables - 2x Corsair SP120 Quiet Editions on Rad - 2x Corsair AF120 White LED Case Fans - Looking to Sell MSI Twin FrozR III 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-13, 10:02 AM
Pendragon Pendragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pompey
Posts: 101
I'm running a pair of 7970's, BF3 performance is flawless. at times the game hits the internal game cap of 200fps. I was a little surprised by the drop in performance playing BF4 MP as it visually looks much the same as BF3. Granted the BF4 single player is the most amazing looking game I have seen to date but the MP game not so much. I would guess that I have lost around 50fps moving from BF3 to BF4 with graphics that don't look all that different.

The elephant in the room is Mantle, will it be the most amazing thing ever? A real leap in gaming performance? Time will tell but if you are building a gaming rig for Battlefield fitting a nVidia right now would be a tough decision...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-13, 10:06 AM
ShaunB-91's Avatar
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
FAP King
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 2,966
I'd personally just get a 780/Ti. I was debating getting a second 7970 at the weekend but I don't really need it to be honest. I suppose if I played a lot of games it might be worth it, Far Cry 3 seems to be stuck at the 30fps mark and Arkham Origins at 21. I thought about a 780Ti but it's too much for me to spend really for the amount I'd use it.
__________________
Corsair 550D - Intel Core i5 4670K - Gigabyte G1. Sniper M5 - 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1600MHz - EVGA GTX 780 Classified - Corsair AX860 - OCZ Vertex 4 128GB x2 - Corsair H100i - Corsair Pre-Braided White Cables - 2x Corsair SP120 Quiet Editions on Rad - 2x Corsair AF120 White LED Case Fans - Looking to Sell MSI Twin FrozR III 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-13, 10:13 AM
Pendragon Pendragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pompey
Posts: 101
If your PC can take another card, it would be a very cost effective upgrade. Modern cards scale very well, a pair of 7970's is still faster than a single 780Ti.

A 280X costs what? £240 quid, buy a 780Ti get poorer performance for an extra cost. Not knocking the 780Ti it's a great card but if you already have a 7970 why not fit a second one???
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-13, 10:19 AM
ShaunB-91's Avatar
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
FAP King
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 2,966
Main reason I decided not to go for a 780/Ti is because then I'd have a GPU I'd need to sell which I've owned for about three months. I may consider getting a second 7970, maybe after Christmas. My only worry is there aren't as many around now and I need to make sure I get the exact same card. Overclockers don't have it were I bought it from now and Scan say sold out. :|
__________________
Corsair 550D - Intel Core i5 4670K - Gigabyte G1. Sniper M5 - 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1600MHz - EVGA GTX 780 Classified - Corsair AX860 - OCZ Vertex 4 128GB x2 - Corsair H100i - Corsair Pre-Braided White Cables - 2x Corsair SP120 Quiet Editions on Rad - 2x Corsair AF120 White LED Case Fans - Looking to Sell MSI Twin FrozR III 7970.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-13, 10:27 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 7,495
I'd just wait for custom coolers on the 290.

A 290 is £330 and a 780Ti is £550.
The thing it comes down to for me is if the ~10fps extra from a 780Ti is worth an extra £220? Personally, I don't think so. Custom cooled 290s are going to be more expensive than reference ones, but not that much and they are still going to be massively cheaper than a 780Ti.

It will be a toss up between the 780 and 290 for me but with Mantle coming it will most likely be the 290 with a DCU II for me.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - i5 2500k - Gigabyte Z68 UD3H - 8gb 1600mhz Mushkin Blackline - Sapphire Tri-X R9 290 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Samsung F3 1tb HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair HX850.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-13, 10:41 AM
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,045
If this useless game would stop crashing every five minutes we might get to enjoy the stunning visual maps and awesome sound that is BF4 but until then it's just frustration and total rage I'm just so glad I wasn't stupid enough to buy premium.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 White =
MSI Z77 Mpower = Intel I7 3770K = 2 x Sapphire HD7970 3GB OC with Boost in X-Fire = 16 Gig Corsair Vengeance White LP @1600 = Corsair H100i = Samsung 840 Evo 250GB = Western Digital Green 3TB = Audio-Technica ATX-AD700X = Logitech Z5500 = Corsair K70 Silver = Corsair M65 Arctic White = Corsair MM600 = Corsair AX850 = Corsair White Individual Braided Cables = 3x AOC e2352Phz = Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium = LG Bluray Burner = Socomec UPS = Windows 8.1 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-13, 11:04 AM
Xrqute's Avatar
Xrqute Xrqute is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Main reason I decided not to go for a 780/Ti is because then I'd have a GPU I'd need to sell which I've owned for about three months. I may consider getting a second 7970, maybe after Christmas. My only worry is there aren't as many around now and I need to make sure I get the exact same card. Overclockers don't have it were I bought it from now and Scan say sold out. :|
To my knowledge bud a 7970 with Xfire with a 280x no issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-12-13, 11:14 AM
TommyGunn123 TommyGunn123 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
There's the 270 results but no 270x results, jussayin'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.