Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-11-13, 02:31 PM
Permafrost's Avatar
Permafrost Permafrost is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,261
crossfire power surge?

hi guys i have 2 of vtx3d hd 7870 xt's in crossfire, and my pc keeps getting power surges and shuts down, i have i ran for a few months and no problems add a 2nd one and it's power surge hell, my psu is thermaltake smart m series 850w so i have more power then I need, any ideas on what it could be?

specs:
i7 4770k
Asus Sabertooth Z87
kingston hyperx beast 8gb 2400mhz
VTX3D 7870 tx X 2
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
2tb hdd
Corsair 750D
nzxt hue
thermaltake smart m850w semi modular

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-11-13, 03:13 PM
SavageCupcake's Avatar
SavageCupcake SavageCupcake is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Herefordshire,England
Posts: 1,012
Thermaltake PSU's are known to be pretty bad mate. Replace it asap with a decent unit (corsair ax/rm, seasonic etc)

I would take a card out and avoid heavy usage until you can get a new psu in there to avoid killing anything :/ but that's just what I would do. I may be wrong.
__________________
Main PC
Intel core I5 2500K @ 4.4Ghz--8gb Kingston hyperX--Msi z68a-gd55--MSI 7870 hawk--Antec true power 650--Noctua NH-D14--Cooler master cm 690 2 b&w--120gb 840 EVO--2tb WD green
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-11-13, 05:18 PM
Permafrost's Avatar
Permafrost Permafrost is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageCupcake View Post
Thermaltake PSU's are known to be pretty bad mate. Replace it asap with a decent unit (corsair ax/rm, seasonic etc)

I would take a card out and avoid heavy usage until you can get a new psu in there to avoid killing anything :/ but that's just what I would do. I may be wrong.
ok i'll have a look but atm i don't have a £100+ to spend on a psu with xmass biting me on the ass

also i want to make sure it's the psu and not something else...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-11-13, 05:23 PM
SavageCupcake's Avatar
SavageCupcake SavageCupcake is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Herefordshire,England
Posts: 1,012
try it with just the one card in there to lower the power draw. If it works then i'd say the psu but try both cards individually to make sure it isn't the card causing it.

Is there any chance you could try a friends psu?
__________________
Main PC
Intel core I5 2500K @ 4.4Ghz--8gb Kingston hyperX--Msi z68a-gd55--MSI 7870 hawk--Antec true power 650--Noctua NH-D14--Cooler master cm 690 2 b&w--120gb 840 EVO--2tb WD green
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-11-13, 05:35 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,298
well the gpu will not cause a power surge but it will help you find a faulty psu and it looks like its doing just that. but as suggested test each card solo and see whats up. oh and as said thermaltakes makes totally shte power supplies. Check around on google you'll see.
__________________
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Intel 4770K
2x 240GB Kingston HyperX 3K's in Raid0
WD Black 649Gb 64mb Sata 6GB/s
HIS 7970's in xfire
Custom water Cooled
Corsair AX860
Corsair Air540
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-11-13, 05:42 PM
Silver Sparrow's Avatar
Silver Sparrow Silver Sparrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheltenham, England
Posts: 109
850w is more than plenty for two 7930s (essentially what they are).

In comparison I had two 7870 hawks [for a while] with a 600w psu and I was fine. Make sure both cards are running normally by themselves before paying out for a decent PSU. I had a look over the specs of your psu and it should be fine with xfire/sli with a single 12v rail. Have you overclocked your PC? If so try stock, again to make sure.

Sounds dumb, but hey, make sure you've connected the right cables to everything, for the cpu, mb, gpu's. It could be the cards trying to draw more power from the m/b than what the m/b can supply.

If none of the above does anything, get yourself a nice Seasonic/corsair/Coolermaster based PSU. Myself I use coolermaster branded PSU's; nearly a decade of use and no faults/problems so something must be working
__________________
F4TG1RL: i5 3570k wc | MSI Z77 GD65 | R9 290 wc | 8GB DDR3 1600 | Samsung 830 250GB | Fractal Arc Midi R2 | CM V1000
wc: GPU EK R9-290 FC Acetal & Backplate | CPU EK-Supreme LTX - Nickel CSQ | Fittings Monsoon Black Chrome & Primochill PF LRT Onyx Black | Pump XSPC Nylon Dual Bay Reservoir & Laing D5 Vario | Radiator Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta 240
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-11-13, 05:44 PM
Permafrost's Avatar
Permafrost Permafrost is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,261
i've just had a look and people are saying it could be the Asus anti-surge?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-11-13, 05:46 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,298
noboby's saying its not enough power (850) were just saying Tt makes crappy stuff so it may not be up to the challenge and/or faulty. As just adding a second card wont create a power surge but a bad psu can.


Quote:
Originally Posted by I don't Know View Post
i've just had a look and people are saying it could be the Asus anti-surge?
have you tried removing a card and testing each independently???
__________________
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Intel 4770K
2x 240GB Kingston HyperX 3K's in Raid0
WD Black 649Gb 64mb Sata 6GB/s
HIS 7970's in xfire
Custom water Cooled
Corsair AX860
Corsair Air540
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-11-13, 05:47 PM
Silver Sparrow's Avatar
Silver Sparrow Silver Sparrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cheltenham, England
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by I don't Know View Post
i've just had a look and people are saying it could be the Asus anti-surge?
If it is that get that PSU out of your PC asap.
__________________
F4TG1RL: i5 3570k wc | MSI Z77 GD65 | R9 290 wc | 8GB DDR3 1600 | Samsung 830 250GB | Fractal Arc Midi R2 | CM V1000
wc: GPU EK R9-290 FC Acetal & Backplate | CPU EK-Supreme LTX - Nickel CSQ | Fittings Monsoon Black Chrome & Primochill PF LRT Onyx Black | Pump XSPC Nylon Dual Bay Reservoir & Laing D5 Vario | Radiator Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta 240
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-11-13, 05:50 PM
Permafrost's Avatar
Permafrost Permafrost is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post
noboby's saying its not enough power (850) were just saying Tt makes crappy stuff so it may not be up to the challenge and/or faulty. As just adding a second card wont create a power surge but a bad psu can.



have you tried removing a card and testing each independently???
ok i've tested both cards solo when i got the 2nd gpu, looks like i'll have to run one card till i get the money for a new one
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.