Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-09-13, 05:22 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,640
derezzing to 1080 need advice

sup gents. my monitor pretty much sucks balls. i got the hazro wc27. it was mis sold as having hdcp. they then removed it from their specs page. recently they re added it to the specs so i presume they have added the hardware that was missing before.

i recently bought a 17in 1080 laptop and the screen is far better.

i dont want to downsize from 27 inch i just want to down rez as said. if i do this hould i be able to increase aa to make up for the slighly lower pixel density. it should also free up some resources for other swanky effects.

this was the monitor is was thinking about

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/27-as...080-250cd-m2-8

this also means i will be able to record my display.

do you guys have any other solutions?

cheers

__________________
3930k @ 4.5GHz watercooled, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133, Rampage IV Extreme watercooled
corsair force 3 120gb boot, samsung 840 250gb unused, wd black 2tb games and storage
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-09-13, 05:36 PM
Willock's Avatar
Willock Willock is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
Posts: 96
Why would you want to down res? There are plenty of GOOD 2560x1440 displays out there -the Dell U2713hm for example.

If you don't mind refurbs, there's a seller on eBay that I got my 2312hm from that's really reliable, and he has a U2713hm for £349.

Other than that I'm not sure I can recommend you spend £250 on a 27' 1080p monitor, the pixels are gonna be hella blurry, you'll regret it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-09-13, 05:48 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,640
i dont want to spend another 400 quid on another lump of crap. its not easy mate

i had a wee look at smaller screens and this here looked ok

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/238-a...xel-technology

its ips but i dont know about smaller. has anyone else ever dropped inches. i dont know what to do
__________________
3930k @ 4.5GHz watercooled, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133, Rampage IV Extreme watercooled
corsair force 3 120gb boot, samsung 840 250gb unused, wd black 2tb games and storage
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-09-13, 06:11 PM
Willock's Avatar
Willock Willock is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkleDJackson View Post
i dont want to spend another 400 quid on another lump of crap. its not easy mate

i had a wee look at smaller screens and this here looked ok

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/238-a...xel-technology

its ips but i dont know about smaller. has anyone else ever dropped inches. i dont know what to do
Lol, if you think Asus is better at building monitors than Dell and Hazro... well then I'm afraid you're a no-hoper

EDIT: I tell you what, I'll buy you that Asus one and we can trade, I'd gladly take your Hazro xD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-09-13, 11:11 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,640
haha mate. like i said my hazro doesnt have hdcp and it may be a small thing to some but i have bought a load of movies on itunes and it wont let me play them. which sucks a considerable amount. id like a dell but they are a bit expensive. the hazro only cost 300 and i dont really want to spend another 450 on a monitor unless i could unload a inferior product to someone that didnt give a monkeys about hdcp
__________________
3930k @ 4.5GHz watercooled, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133, Rampage IV Extreme watercooled
corsair force 3 120gb boot, samsung 840 250gb unused, wd black 2tb games and storage
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-09-13, 12:18 AM
Xenomorphical's Avatar
Xenomorphical Xenomorphical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holland (that's NOT in Germany!)
Posts: 173
I'd ay go for a samsung monitor but they don't seem to have it on that site?
__________________
Infinite creativity!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-09-13, 08:22 AM
d3rrial d3rrial is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkleDJackson View Post
haha mate. like i said my hazro doesnt have hdcp and it may be a small thing to some but i have bought a load of movies on itunes and it wont let me play them. which sucks a considerable amount. id like a dell but they are a bit expensive. the hazro only cost 300 and i dont really want to spend another 450 on a monitor unless i could unload a inferior product to someone that didnt give a monkeys about hdcp
Nobody cares about HDCP, there's plenty ways to get around it.

Also I'm enclined to believe that Willocks offer was serious.

Edit: Thought I'd leave an explaination about my size one comment here: You could either simply use "anydvd hd" and it works, another way to get around YOUR problem (not generally HDCP) you could just turn your resolution to 1920*1080 manually before you want to play a movie and then it'll work again.
__________________
1D3rriAL4Zx4y4ziAxNUzV9YDD8dpkMupW
i7-4770k | 2x R9 290X | 16GB @ 2133 | Sabertooth Z87 | Carbide 540 | RM1000
840 Pro 512GB | 840 EVO 500GB | 1TB Velociraptor + 1TB WD Blue
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-09-13, 08:34 AM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,640
i have anydvd hd for making my rips but it still doenst allow it to be played. i think it must be because its apple store content but i think i will score the asus 27 in 1440 monitor. its 450 but it seems to have won a gold award wherever it has been tested. then when i get it i will put the hazro up on the fsw but thats all ill say about that as not to invoke the fury of the banhammer lol.
__________________
3930k @ 4.5GHz watercooled, Evga GTX 780 SC 6GB SLI watercooled w/backplates
16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133, Rampage IV Extreme watercooled
corsair force 3 120gb boot, samsung 840 250gb unused, wd black 2tb games and storage
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-09-13, 08:38 AM
d3rrial d3rrial is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkleDJackson View Post
i have anydvd hd for making my rips but it still doenst allow it to be played. i think it must be because its apple store content but i think i will score the asus 27 in 1440 monitor. its 450 but it seems to have won a gold award wherever it has been tested. then when i get it i will put the hazro up on the fsw but thats all ill say about that as not to invoke the fury of the banhammer lol.
Try to set your resolution to 1080p in windows (or whatever OS you are using) manually first and try to play it.

HDCP isn't compatible with the resolution of 1440p in general, not displays that sport this resolution
__________________
1D3rriAL4Zx4y4ziAxNUzV9YDD8dpkMupW
i7-4770k | 2x R9 290X | 16GB @ 2133 | Sabertooth Z87 | Carbide 540 | RM1000
840 Pro 512GB | 840 EVO 500GB | 1TB Velociraptor + 1TB WD Blue
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-09-13, 01:51 PM
Willock's Avatar
Willock Willock is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire, England, UK
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3rrial View Post
Nobody cares about HDCP, there's plenty ways to get around it.

Also I'm enclined to believe that Willocks offer was serious.
A £400 monitor for £250? I think anyone would take that offer xD

That aside, I'd really recommend Dell to anyone just in terms of panel quality and build quality; if you dont want to pay thier premium, then LG are the next best, as they're the ones who make the panels for Dell anyway (though the build quality is not as good, I have my 22" LG here wobbling as I type )
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.