Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-09-13, 04:15 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,693
The Steam Universe is Expanding in 2014...

Still 45 mins to go on the countdown for the first announcement. I'm sure this has to do with Steam Big Picture and/or possibly Steambox. With 3 being involved lots of rumors are stirring about HL3 or L4D3. I doubt we will get any big announcements like that, but I am definitely hoping for them!

http://store.steampowered.com/livingroom/

1st Announcement - SteamOS
2nd Announcement - Steam Machines
3rd Announcement - Steam Controller

__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-09-13, 05:02 PM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,680
STEAM OS

interesting
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-09-13, 05:36 PM
maniac's Avatar
maniac maniac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Malta
Posts: 1,705
If this is good for any gaming pc and all games work on it..... I wouldn't even think once on changing windows
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Intel Core i7 950 - EVGA GTX580 SLI - Asus P6T - G.Skill Pi Series 6GB
Corsair H110 - Corsair HX850 - Intel 520 120GB - Acer V243H - Logitech G510 - Corsair M65

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-09-13, 05:38 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac View Post
If this is good for any gaming pc and all games work on it..... I wouldn't even think once on changing windows
You will still need your Windows PC. It looks like SteamOS will stream the game from your Windows gaming PC to the SteamOS computer and display on your TV.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-09-13, 05:52 PM
Terrifictez85 Terrifictez85 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Posts: 890
Three announcements.
Half Life 3 confirmed.
__________________
Asus Crosshair V - FX 6100 - 8gb Crucial Ballistix - Zotac GTX 680 4gb - 128gb Kingston V100+ ssd - 1tb Samsung Spinpoint - 320gb Samsung Spinpoint - Corsair RM750w
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-09-13, 06:04 PM
SavageCupcake's Avatar
SavageCupcake SavageCupcake is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Herefordshire,England
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post
You will still need your Windows PC. It looks like SteamOS will stream the game from your Windows gaming PC to the SteamOS computer and display on your TV.
Could this mean that something as low powered as a raspberry pi could be used for it? purely for the streaming part. Or would it not have enough grunt?
__________________
Main PC
Intel core I5 2500K @ 4.4Ghz--8gb Kingston hyperX--Msi z68a-gd55--MSI 7870 hawk--Antec true power 650--Noctua NH-D14--Cooler master cm 690 2 b&w--120gb 840 EVO--2tb WD green
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-09-13, 06:08 PM
SPS's Avatar
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 3,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post
You will still need your Windows PC. It looks like SteamOS will stream the game from your Windows gaming PC to the SteamOS computer and display on your TV.
That's one feature but it's built on Linux and I see no reason for it not to support the current Linux titles on Steam.
__________________
Asus CHIV Formula // 1090T // 8GB RAM // HD6950 2GB // Noctua NH-D14 //Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
2TB WD Black // Schiit Magni/Modi Stack // 3 x Dell U2312HM // Antec 1200
Ducky Shine 3 white LED TKL w/ MX Blues // Steelseries Sensei
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-09-13, 06:11 PM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavageCupcake View Post
Could this mean that something as low powered as a raspberry pi could be used for it? purely for the streaming part. Or would it not have enough grunt?

This would be nice to know.
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-09-13, 06:16 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
That's one feature but it's built on Linux and I see no reason for it not to support the current Linux titles on Steam.
Yes, all 15 of them will work. Joking aside, yes anything that runs on linux will run native on SteamOS. Lots of indie games and valves titles. Most AAA PC games though are Windows only.

It will be interesting to see if upcoming (2014 and beyond) AAA games are dual platform.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-09-13, 06:36 PM
SPS's Avatar
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 3,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post
Yes, all 15 of them will work. Joking aside, yes anything that runs on linux will run native on SteamOS. Lots of indie games and valves titles. Most AAA PC games though are Windows only.

It will be interesting to see if upcoming (2014 and beyond) AAA games are dual platform.
Valve are pushing for more Linux supported titles though and they are the company that can make it happen - although I'd prefer it not to as a DirectX coder
__________________
Asus CHIV Formula // 1090T // 8GB RAM // HD6950 2GB // Noctua NH-D14 //Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
2TB WD Black // Schiit Magni/Modi Stack // 3 x Dell U2312HM // Antec 1200
Ducky Shine 3 white LED TKL w/ MX Blues // Steelseries Sensei
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.