Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-09-13, 11:41 AM
Mathius Mathius is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Newport, S.E.Wales
Posts: 659
Troubleshoot AMD videocard crashing.

Where to start......

I run my HD 4870 which to be fair to it is still a pretty decent card for the stuff I use it for.......
It was bought 2nd hand form ebay, and has run fine apart from twice.

#1
About 5-6months of use it started to get the atimkdag.sys driver error, but after a lot of searching, I found there is no real fix......eventually this seemed to fix itself and was running fine for the last 4 months....

#2
Last night while playing COD4 my screen just went black and got the No Video Signal message, shortly after the game sounds froze up.....(black screen crash)

Now, I removed the card, cleaned it up, and got rid of dust and put it all back together again and booted up....

I can do everything fine (web browse, watching films, youtube, emails, even posting this thread) but when I try to play COD4, MW3, BO2 or Tricky Truck its loads each of the menu screens, but when it actually goes to load the play screen (where you can start moving around) I get a variety of different crash screens.....

Sometimes its a black-white vertical lines screen, other times it can be plain white with flashing red squares all over the place and even straight to BSoD (atimkdag.sys)

All things I've done in the past dont seem to be working, but what is getting me is that if I dont load a games, everything is fine.

I've just used Driversweeper to remove all AMD, and uninstalled the Device manager 4800 series driver... and have installed the catalyst set 13.1 so I'm back to where I was in regards of drivers, just this time all fresh...

Am I missing something ?


Edit:
I'm soon to be looking at getting an upgrade to a 7950/760/670 kinda card, but for now I want to sort this out....

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-09-13, 11:56 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,945
Card is broken mate, probably memory.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-09-13, 11:58 AM
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,239
What card did you have previous to this one?
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | NZXT Hale 90 v2 1000w | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Pure - White | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702 Reference Headphones | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!

SPS : Apparently they bend if you sit on them in your back pocket - which fucking spasticated mother fucker puts a phone in their back pocket
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-09-13, 12:06 PM
Watsyerproblem's Avatar
Watsyerproblem Watsyerproblem is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,379
I have to agree with tom on this. It sounds broken.

with you uninstalling, then sweeping and reinstalling the drivers, that takes a software issue out of the equation. Which sadly only leaves the card at fault, not surprising given how old that card is.
__________________
Have a look at the OC3D News Section, written by the community for the community
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-09-13, 12:16 PM
Mathius Mathius is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Newport, S.E.Wales
Posts: 659
Dammit, my suspicions were correct then.

The 4870 has been the only card since it was built....

I'll be trying my wife's 7750 to rule out anything else though.

looks like im heading to the wanted section..... Lol


EDIT

I've inspected my card for any blown capacitors etc, at it looks fine.....
Best software to use to test my videocard to find faults......I heard bad things about Furmark cooking videocards
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-09-13, 12:43 PM
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,239
yeah don't use furmark.
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | NZXT Hale 90 v2 1000w | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Pure - White | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702 Reference Headphones | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!

SPS : Apparently they bend if you sit on them in your back pocket - which fucking spasticated mother fucker puts a phone in their back pocket
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-09-13, 01:00 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,342
You could also try putting new thermal paste on as if your card was dirty and old it has probably dried out and is over heating
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 White =
MSI Z77 Mpower = Intel I7 3770K = 2 x Sapphire HD7970 3GB OC with Boost in X-Fire = 16 Gig Corsair Vengeance White LP @1600 = Corsair H100i = 2xSamsung 840 Evo 250GB raid0 = 3xWestern Digital Green 3TB = Audio-Technica ATX-AD700X = Logitech Z5500 = Corsair K70 Silver = Corsair M65 Black = Corsair MM600 = Corsair AX850 = Corsair White Individual Braided Cables = 3x AOC e2352Phz = Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium = LG Bluray Burner = Socomec UPS = Windows 8.1 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-09-13, 01:31 PM
CrazyRussian CrazyRussian is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 25
To me it looks like you GPU is failing, it is quite common on old cards, i doubt that is is the memory.

Most of the time it GPU soldering problems, there are ways you can fix this , but it is temporary.
if you are tight on budget , you can try to go with the fix,
if you have a heatgun.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-09-13, 01:59 PM
Mathius Mathius is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Newport, S.E.Wales
Posts: 659
I'm running the card on a Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo II which I sorted my self, including the ram heatsinks and has been fine......

After a lot of Crashes and Trial and Errors, I've got my card semi-working.....

I've had to set the card up using:
GPU Clock 500mhz
Memory Clock 900mhz

Which is a serious underclock, but it does mean that i can still play my games......
It should buy me enough time to source a 7950 performance card, hopefully around the £150 mark (as i have this currently saved), but I might end up getting a 7870 Tahiti from a retailer with the Warranty.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-09-13, 02:02 PM
CrazyRussian CrazyRussian is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 25
just want to say, until the card is fixed, you can run it as cool as you want even on liquid nitrogen it still will not work
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.