Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-04-13, 08:16 PM
Archmage Archmage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Unhappy MSI Z77 MPower and 2133 Ram Problem (E55)

Hiya,
I've a newly assembled rig, based on a Z77 MPower MB with an air cooled 3770K and 4 x 4Gb of LP Corsair Vengance 2133 ram.
On first boot, everything seemed OK and I was happy to see the new snazzy BIOS welcome screen. While explaining how things worked to my lad, I noticed that the XMP of the memory wasn't enabled so enabled it. The figures listed matched the ones I ordered -> 11-11-11-27 1.5V so looked good.
I saved and rebooted, but all I got was the MB cycling every 10 seconds, stopping at POST error 55.
I tried removing one set of dimms,then swapped them over, but still the same. Clearing and then setting back to AUTO (1333) had it booting normally.
I started testing the frequency manually, leaving everything else in AUTO.
I found the MB would POST fine up to 2000 but would fail at 2133.
By chance, I then had a look at the monitor function, under the Eco section, and found an odd thing with the ram voltage. At 1333 or 1400, the voltage sits around 1.46V. Any setting above 1400 displays the voltage at 1.65V!
Did I miss something but, aren't the XMP settings supposed to configure the freq, timings and voltage?
The MB bios, I believe, is sitting at V17.5.
Please let me know if I've forgotten to list something inportant and I look forward to finding out what I'm doing wrong
Cheers,
Andy

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-13, 08:23 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,070
Be careful there matey, msi z77 boards are known for there error 55 bootloop..

My board is in RMA at the moment as I was unable to get out of the error 55 bootloop even with a cmos reset..

What happens if you manually set voltage to 1.5v on the ram ??
__________________
Our OS who art in CPU, UNIX be thy name. Thy programs run, thy syscalls done, In kernel as it is in user!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-13, 08:27 PM
Archmage Archmage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Thanks, I'll bear the RMA problem in mind.
Was going to try fixing the voltage at 1.5V but haven't found how to switch it to manual in the BIOS yet. I've still fond memories of Phoenix BIOS and all the text based ones that followed. Still a bit lost in this one, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-13, 09:50 PM
Archmage Archmage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
I've fixed the ram voltage at 1.5V, but this hasn't helped. I also connected up the test points on the MB and verified with a multimeter that the voltages were as listed in the BIOS.
Looks like I may be contacting Scan's Returns.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-13, 10:54 PM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,895
and what RAM is it you have?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-13, 11:16 PM
Archmage Archmage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
It's Corsair Vengeance LP 2133 11-11-11-27 1.5V
Fitted as 4 x 4Gb Dimms. I've also sent Scan a message about it.
I noticed on MSI's website spec for the board, that they don't even consider 2133 an over clock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-13, 01:33 AM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,895
RAM stability is also a part of the CPU IMC (integrated Memory Controller).
but at last glance, the Dominator 2x 2gb 2133 were the only "supported" corsair
modules... tried 1866MHz same timings?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-13, 04:16 PM
Archmage Archmage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
I did try to find a compatibility list on the MSI website but failed. Do we know which MB this ram may have been tested in? If it won't run at the xmp values it was sold at, I could have saved £20 and bought the 1866.
It posts at 2000 but I can't yet say if it's stable at that as I've not put the OS in.
Maybe I'm expecting too much, but in days gone by, ram did what it said on the tin. You only pushed your luck when you tried OC beyond the values sold. :-(

update/

I managed to find the memory compatibility list for the MPower MB but it didn't seem very up to date. When I looked at the Video card compatibility list, there were no HD 7xxx series cards listed at all, including the MSI one I bought! So this shows how up to date it all is.
I've since flashed the BIOS up to V17.7 (it has to be the flakiest procedure I've come across compared to MB's I've done in the past). The new BIOS didn't fix anything for me but, amazingly, crashed a few times while editing the boot device priority(Can't remember ever having a simple text interface bios, crash!). It looks like the boot list doesn't update the graphic along the top of the menu properly and the text gets corrupted. Hovering over the graphic sometimes causes a crash. I flashed back to V17.5 and it's OK.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-13, 04:15 AM
PetetheSweet's Avatar
PetetheSweet PetetheSweet is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 62
Sounds like there is something more going on then just a RAM incompatibility.
I just bought the G.Skill Ripjaw Z 2133 of the MSI List.
Now it's running on two M-Power Boards @ 2400, with 10-12-11-32 on 1.65V, 100% stable.
The XMP Profile worked fine too.

BIOS rev. 17.7
__________________
Corsair Obsidian 750D | MSI Z77 M-Power | i7 3770k @4.4GHz | Sapphire 7950oc @ 1.1GHz/1.45GHz | 16GB G-Skill Ripjawz 2133 @2400 | Corsair AX 850 | Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Seagate Barracuda 3TB | Custom-Loop liquid cooling

Fractal Design Arc Midi | MSI Z77 M-Power | i5 3570k @Stock | Club 3D 7870 Joker Card | 16GB G-Skill Ripjawz 2133 @2400 | BeQuiet 530W | Samsung 840 125GB | Samsung 750GB | Corsair H100
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-13, 07:33 AM
Archmage Archmage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetetheSweet View Post
I just bought the G.Skill Ripjaw Z 2133 of the MSI List.
Now it's running on two M-Power Boards @ 2400, with 10-12-11-32 on 1.65V, 100% stable.
The XMP Profile worked fine too.

BIOS rev. 17.7
Thanks for the info.
I have Windows 7 installed and all's fine with ram at 1333, so I thought I'd try the "idiot-proof" OC Genie button. I left XMP disabled in the bios.
Well, that fails to get past error 55 and cycles every 8 seconds too.
I can fudge it by modifying the custom Genie settings in the bios and limiting the ram, but it didn't actually provide any OC.
I'm still waiting to hear from Scan, re my RMA request. Not sure if they'll ask for the ram back too.
With regards to V17.7, the bug I see is where I set my Plextor SSD as first boot device under the BOOT settings option. When I then look at the icons displayed over the top of the main screen, the first icon fails to display the plextor name and ID, it just shows a garbled mess, when you hover the mouse over it. This works fine again now I've flashed back to V17.5.
Please could you let me know which flashing method you used, as the MSI forum suggests that the in-built tools and Live system are a bit flaky. I stuck the bios on a usb stick and used MFlash from the bios. I then chose "combined bios and MC firmware". MFlash said it completed successfully.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.