Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-02-13, 10:17 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,337
Gigabyte Z77 Overclocking Guide

If you own an Intel CPU and want to have a go at your first overclock, we've got just the guide for you.





Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-02-13, 12:00 AM
MrKambo's Avatar
MrKambo MrKambo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 1,874
Send a message via Skype™ to MrKambo
actually just watched all this through!

very informative mate, i think you done really well in going over the most important stuff for people who are 'new' to overclocking and want somewhere to start from!
__________________

Assassin Build Log (Retired) ----- OC3D Overclockers Club 007 ----- Steam & Origin - mrkambo

Punisher: i7-4770K, Asus Impact, 8GB Dom Platinum 2133, EVGA 780 Classy, Silverstone Strider 850w, Corsair Force GT 120GB, Bitfenix Prodigy Modded

Server: i3-3225, Maximus Formula V, 8GB Corsair Vengeance, Corsair 460w, Kingston 30GB, Various Storage Drives, Bitfenix Shinobi XL Modded
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-02-13, 12:13 AM
GoldenAppleTree's Avatar
GoldenAppleTree GoldenAppleTree is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9
Very nice I have learned a lot
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-02-13, 12:34 AM
Luscious's Avatar
Luscious Luscious is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alien Cryogenics Lab, Groom Lake, NV
Posts: 43
Noob question - how do you get around the Welcome screen and windows sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-02-13, 12:39 AM
Genesius Genesius is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 272
do you mean the windows 7 '4 spinning balls that turns into the windows logo' thing or the icon where your name is?

4 spinning balls thing=
start
type 'system configuration'
click 'boot' tab at top
tick the box marked 'no GUI boot'
restart.

if you ever want it back, simply untick.

as for the user log in bit.

delete other users and passwords.

there is a work around but i cant remember it off the top of my head as its very late, so just use google. as i remember its in regedit and its something like 'user control password'. anyway dont mess in regedit until you know EXACTLY what to change.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz
Eheim Aquarium pump custom loop (DONE!)
Corsair CX750M
EVGA GTX 770 CLASSIFIED

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-02-13, 02:08 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,570
AMD Phenom users look here: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=35735
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-02-13, 02:41 AM
Kazuya Kazuya is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, US
Posts: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Kazuya
Great read and very informative, enjoyed the video as well. Keep up the great work boys!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-02-13, 03:33 AM
dre92's Avatar
dre92 dre92 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 17
Anyone, please help.. I am a complete noob and I have some questions to ask. First of all, I want to say that I find this overclocking guide is very helpful, thanks to Tom . Now before I ask my questions, let me tell you my specs:

i5 3570k
AsRock z77 extreme4
CM Hyper 212 Evo (push-pull fans)
Arctic Cooling MX-4
Patriot Viper 3 DDR3 1600MHz (9 9 9 24) 2x4GB
HIS 7950 IceQ
Seasonic G-650 80+Gold
Seagate 2TB SATA3 7200RPM
NZXT Phantom 410 (2 front intake fans, 1 rear and 1 top exhaust fans)

The AsRock Bios is a bit different, but I tried my best to set everything to be the exact same with Tom's settings except the CPU core voltage. I managed to get 1.080 volt at stock. When I tested at 4.0 GHz with 1.125 volt, OCCT stopped running after 8 minutes. My system didn't crash, temps are still normal I guess (75C max temp, 30C ambient temp) but OCCT just stopped running and said "Error Detected ... ". Is this a common thing with OCCT showing that my CPU needs more voltage? Or is there any other factor?
Right now, I am testing my CPU at 4.0 GHz with 1.150 volt, and OCCT has been running for 12 minutes. My target is 4.2 GHz, so I want to know whether I am doing the right thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-02-13, 06:29 AM
DrYuri DrYuri is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
I also have i5 3570k but i overclocked it to 4.2 using auto voltage with quite high negative offset. That gives me to 1.163 when undrer stress but drops down to 0.9 when system is just idling. That is also fine i assume?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-02-13, 08:45 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by dre92 View Post
Anyone, please help.. I am a complete noob and I have some questions to ask. First of all, I want to say that I find this overclocking guide is very helpful, thanks to Tom . Now before I ask my questions, let me tell you my specs:

i5 3570k
AsRock z77 extreme4
CM Hyper 212 Evo (push-pull fans)
Arctic Cooling MX-4
Patriot Viper 3 DDR3 1600MHz (9 9 9 24) 2x4GB
HIS 7950 IceQ
Seasonic G-650 80+Gold
Seagate 2TB SATA3 7200RPM
NZXT Phantom 410 (2 front intake fans, 1 rear and 1 top exhaust fans)

The AsRock Bios is a bit different, but I tried my best to set everything to be the exact same with Tom's settings except the CPU core voltage. I managed to get 1.080 volt at stock. When I tested at 4.0 GHz with 1.125 volt, OCCT stopped running after 8 minutes. My system didn't crash, temps are still normal I guess (75C max temp, 30C ambient temp) but OCCT just stopped running and said "Error Detected ... ". Is this a common thing with OCCT showing that my CPU needs more voltage? Or is there any other factor?
Right now, I am testing my CPU at 4.0 GHz with 1.150 volt, and OCCT has been running for 12 minutes. My target is 4.2 GHz, so I want to know whether I am doing the right thing.
Its all in the guide.... You need more volts. Might want to think about a better cooler too. (assuming youve done everything I said in the guide)
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.