Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-08-06, 07:38 AM
omgwtfbbq omgwtfbbq is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 80
few questions regarding 7300GT SLi

ok i have a few questions:

firstly, if you have an SLi motherboard and only one card does it matter which slot it goes in

secondly, will a 550W PSU be enough to power two 7300GTs (only one HD and CD drive).

finally, what is the best 7300GT on the market (brand wise)

thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-08-06, 07:50 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Top slot and I would expect that 550w should be good enough if the brand is a good brand (Tagan, enermax, silverstone, OCZ, PCP&C)

I had a Gainward Golden Sample 7300GT and it was a nice little card
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-08-06, 08:08 AM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Yeah, highly depends on brand. What is it m8?
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-08-06, 08:52 AM
omgwtfbbq omgwtfbbq is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 80
err

no idea i will check when i get home,

is there any major difference between the DDR2 and the DDR3 versions of this card?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-08-06, 10:09 AM
omgwtfbbq omgwtfbbq is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 80
the PSU is a 550W q-tec

not sure if that is any good...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-08-06, 10:10 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtfbbq
the PSU is a 550W q-tec

not sure if that is any good...
No it's ummm not :rollingla
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-08-06, 10:12 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
not good....wouldnt even recommend you turn on the computer with that socalled psu.

its about the worst brand in the world and no im not joking.

btw your socalled 550w is WEAKER than my 380w psu, thats how good it is.

but i still LOVE the review i read a couple of years ago off the 550w psu, the caps in it exploded during the review
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-08-06, 10:16 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Ewwww, Q-tec! I advise that you power down your computer immediately, move to another computer (preferably one without a Q-tec PSU), surft to Newegg, and buy a new PSU. That's really how bad that PSU is, honestly. It's like a ticking timebomb for any computer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-08-06, 11:16 AM
omgwtfbbq omgwtfbbq is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 80
lol ok point taken...

will http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item=282&num=1

be good enough for my new system?

3500+ venice

7300GT x2

crappy 10 gig HD

(storing stuff on an external and my other comp(s) untill i can afford a new HD)

1optical drive (sony cd burner)

Asus A8N-SLI motherboard

if not could somone recommend one please

oh yeah

http://www.qtec.info/products/product.htm?artnr=14513

that is my current one

thankyou all for your inputs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-08-06, 11:30 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
:rollingla Ha!

I'm sorry but there's something that strikes my funny bone with that system setup. You've got SLI and a decent CPU / Mobo and not enough money for anything but a 10gb hd? lollers. I think I'd pick new HD before second video card

Edit: Don't take anything the wrong way, i'm not bashin'. Just pointing out a funny fact
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.