Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-07-06, 11:24 PM
Hyper Hyper is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,246
Ebay Fraud E-Mail

Just recieved a fraud e-mail pretending to be ebay and giving the usual reponse link so I have to login and then they get my details



See a screenshot here...


Had a few of these in the past and I am always wary of ebay e-mails and check all links before entering any details and everyone else should do the same. Just thought I would share it with you incase any of you get the same one.

If anyone recieves anymore dodgy ones then feel free to post it up on here to help all of oc3d members avoid fraud

Hyper

__________________
2500K @ 4GHZ - P8Z68-V - Sapphire 6950 2GB

8GB DDR3 - M4 64GB SSD - Corsair HX520W - Dell 24"

Logitech G5 - Logitech Z-5500 - Sennheisser HD555

Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 4GB DDR3, M4 128GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-07-06, 11:58 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
one way to se if its fraud or not is to use a fake login with a fake password.

did it on a fraud my sister recieved and got "logged in", if it had been real i would have receieved a error message about unknown login or incorrect password.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-07-06, 12:49 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I just never ever click on e-bay e-mails.

I log on to the site www.ebay.co.uk and check stuff from there
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-07-06, 09:46 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
We get a few of those now and again, along with websites masquerading as our online banking website. I do as Kemp does, and never click on them...But I do send a copy to Ebay and my bank so they know to warn others.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-07-06, 10:16 AM
browney browney is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 531
Had them in the past but who hasn’t

I tend to get Paypal ones, they are easy to spot I seem to remember the fake ones miss out the UK part of the URL. Best thing to do is what PV5150 said and send it to paypal/ebay
__________________
Q8300@3Ghz || 4Gb 6400 Black Dragon ||P35 DS3

5770 1Gb || G15 Rev 2 || 10MB VM

||E-mail
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-09-06, 08:07 PM
Hyper Hyper is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,246
Just had another today.

The E-Mail:



Looks pretty normal eh...

Look at the link it takes you to:



All it takes is for me to stick my details in there and I will be the victim of fraud !!!

Beware
__________________
2500K @ 4GHZ - P8Z68-V - Sapphire 6950 2GB

8GB DDR3 - M4 64GB SSD - Corsair HX520W - Dell 24"

Logitech G5 - Logitech Z-5500 - Sennheisser HD555

Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 4GB DDR3, M4 128GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-09-06, 10:08 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I NEVER EVER EVER even go NEAR ebay e-mails...ever

If they need to contact you they can do it via ebay mail
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-09-06, 10:09 PM
Hyper Hyper is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,246
I always check the links and if its not relevent then I dont click it.

But I just posted it incase anyone else gets a similar one (no doubt they will)
__________________
2500K @ 4GHZ - P8Z68-V - Sapphire 6950 2GB

8GB DDR3 - M4 64GB SSD - Corsair HX520W - Dell 24"

Logitech G5 - Logitech Z-5500 - Sennheisser HD555

Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 4GB DDR3, M4 128GB SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.