Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-06-13, 12:01 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: EU/UK
Posts: 4,776
Which Cloning Software For OS ?

I'd like to backup my OS from my SSD and store it on my HDD but I'm unsure how to do this, Any insight would be appreciated

__________________
=IC i7 4790K 4.80GHZ=Asus Sabertooth MKI Z97=Asus GTX 980 1500/2000=Avexir BZ 1.1 Original 2500MHZ 16GB=
=Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB=Corsair H100i P/P=Western Digital Caviar Black 4TB=Asus Xonar Phoebus=
=Corsair Graphite 780T=Windows 8.1 Enterprise 64 Bit Edition=Asus PB287Q 4K 60Hz 1Ms=Asus Strix Pro=
=Corsair RGB K95 Red Switch=Corsair M95=Corsair MM200 EE=Speedlink Xeox Pro=Corsair AX860i 80 Plus Platinum=
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-13, 07:01 AM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,336
I normally use Clonezilla. It's open source and thus free.

http://clonezilla.org/

Download the USB image and follow the instructions here to set it up with a USB key. Then boot from the key.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-13, 10:04 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: EU/UK
Posts: 4,776
Is it possible to save the backup to an internal drive as I know a lot of these programs only let you backup to an external or dvd's :-/
__________________
=IC i7 4790K 4.80GHZ=Asus Sabertooth MKI Z97=Asus GTX 980 1500/2000=Avexir BZ 1.1 Original 2500MHZ 16GB=
=Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB=Corsair H100i P/P=Western Digital Caviar Black 4TB=Asus Xonar Phoebus=
=Corsair Graphite 780T=Windows 8.1 Enterprise 64 Bit Edition=Asus PB287Q 4K 60Hz 1Ms=Asus Strix Pro=
=Corsair RGB K95 Red Switch=Corsair M95=Corsair MM200 EE=Speedlink Xeox Pro=Corsair AX860i 80 Plus Platinum=
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-13, 12:45 PM
SPS's Avatar
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 3,541
Windows lets you do this?
__________________
System:
Asus CHIV Formula | AMD 1090T | 16GB G.Skill RAM | Asus Strix GTX970 4GB | Corsair H100i | 840 Pro 128GB | Corsair AX860i | Corsair 780T | 2TB WD Black

Setup:
3 x Dell U2312HM | Ducky Shine 3 white LED TKL w/ MX Blues | Steelseries Sensei | Schiit Magni/Modi Stack | GT Omega EVO XL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-13, 01:04 PM
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,432
Acronis True image is pretty flexible
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | NZXT Hale 90 v2 1000w | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Pure - White | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702 Reference Headphones | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm Headphones | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-13, 03:24 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,613
another vote for acronis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-13, 03:32 PM
SPS's Avatar
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 3,541
I also use true image
__________________
System:
Asus CHIV Formula | AMD 1090T | 16GB G.Skill RAM | Asus Strix GTX970 4GB | Corsair H100i | 840 Pro 128GB | Corsair AX860i | Corsair 780T | 2TB WD Black

Setup:
3 x Dell U2312HM | Ducky Shine 3 white LED TKL w/ MX Blues | Steelseries Sensei | Schiit Magni/Modi Stack | GT Omega EVO XL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-13, 03:56 PM
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,432
Don't get the norton one if you have UEFI bios btw, it can't clone them. Acronis however, can, and I believe there's not much it can't do in terms of image backup/cloning. Very impressive.
__________________
Asus x79 Deluxe | Intel 3930k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz DDR3 | 2 x 3GB Gigabyte Windforce 780GTX - SLi | Xonar Essence STX | 2 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pros | 2TB Samsung F4 | NZXT Hale 90 v2 1000w | Caselabs SM8 - White | 2 x Alphacool 360x60 | Bitspower 400mm Res Top | Dual Laing D5 Pumps | Bitspower C47 Fittings | XSPC Raystorm | Roccat Kone Pure - White | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702 Reference Headphones | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm Headphones | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.