Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-12-12, 12:20 PM
xeks xeks is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 44
Filling/Draining, Pump Control, & ETC questions

Hey guys,

(Sorry for the length of the post but I'm new so yeah >.<)

I recently started putting together my waterloop and I have a few questions and issues. Here's the legend to the drawing of my rig:

1. Phobya G-Changer 420mm Radiator
2. Bitspower Water Tank Z-Multi 150
3. Alphacool VP665 Pump Variable Speed w/RPM Monitoring attached to an EK D5 X-Top Acetal Pump Top
4. XSPC Raystorm Acetal CPU Block

Firstly my rad is a tad long so regular 1/2 inch barbs doesn't work because it's too tight of a squeeze between the barb and the side-wall of the IO shield area, so I'm going to get a 90 degree fitting to hopefully fix that.
This fitting + my original 1/2" barb should work?

Secondly the spacing between the rad to res and res to pump is a bit tight so I'm a bind on filling and draining. The res I have has 1 holes on one side and 3 on the other. Currently I have it set up for just the 1 hole side as the fluid out and the side with 3 holes as the res intake and fill port. I was thinking of flipping the res so that I would have 3 holes on the bottom and 1 hole on the top then adding a splitter (with a threaded plug so I can add/remove extra tubing) so I could then add the fill port along with the rad to res inlet. While on the bottom of the res I would have to res to pump port, an extra port, and a port to drain the res. The drain port would have a quick disconnect so I can add/remove the extra tubing as well. Would that work? See second picture.

Or...should I keep the current orientation of the res the same, 3 inlet top and 1 outlet) and add a splitter and quick disconnect for the drain, and a threaded plug for the fill? Would this work better than the scenario above? Kinda the inverted of the second picture.

The res I'm using also came with a metal internal tube thing that looks like a ring sizer...what's that for? And how much of the res should I have full when the loop is all done and running? Testing it I had it pretty much almost maxed out and covering a bit of the inlet port anti-cyclone port thing.

I also have an AeroCool Touch 2000 Fan controller that I'm using and was wondering could I hook that up to the pump on full blast and use it to control the speed? I assume the RPM monitoring lead plugs into the motherboard in place of a CPU fan? Controlling it via the fan controller isn't necessary if it'll hurt the pump but would be easier.

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated! It's been a hard but fun learning experience so far. Thanks!

Shout out to Master&Puppet for helping get the parts together.

Legend for 2nd picture:
#2 Sealing Plug
#4 Y-Splitter
#6 Quick Disconnect connected to another #2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-2.jpg (53.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (78.4 KB, 5 views)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-12, 09:58 AM
xeks xeks is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 44
TTL, save me!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 11:12 AM
Whaler_99 Whaler_99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 218
That fitting and barb should work - longs as you still have clearance for the fitting.
Also, that fan controller cannot control your pump, it only does 6W per channel. If you look at the specs, your pump needs 23W - so at minimum, you would need a 25W per channel controller, if not 30W...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-12, 08:28 AM
xeks xeks is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 44
Thanks for the response, will order the parts and give it a go. Need to maybe find a molex controller for the pump. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-12, 11:03 AM
Deejeta Deejeta is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 376
Looks alright.
Its that ring thing you mention not just a spacer?
__________________
"Western civilization is a loaded gun pointed at the head of this planet." McKenna
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-12, 11:20 AM
xeks xeks is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 44


The silver thing in this pic.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-12, 12:21 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,928
Id just set the pump up and leave it alone tbh. Thats all I ever do.

Just remember you want the shortest hose possible. looking at your picture you have a MASSIVE bit visable, so you will have to do a lot to hide it.

I will point and laugh if you stick it over the front of your gpu like in the picture.....
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-12, 12:35 PM
xeks xeks is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Id just set the pump up and leave it alone tbh. Thats all I ever do.

Just remember you want the shortest hose possible. looking at your picture you have a MASSIVE bit visable, so you will have to do a lot to hide it.

I will point and laugh if you stick it over the front of your gpu like in the picture.....
I understand the shortest hose possible, but how would you route the tubing? And what do you mean by "MASSIVE bit"? I assume you mean I have a lot of tubing. Haha sorry but thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.