Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-05-12, 02:37 PM
Dario_92's Avatar
Dario_92 Dario_92 is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 467
Send a message via MSN to Dario_92 Send a message via Skype™ to Dario_92
Hi there, im new to the forums so if im posting in the wrong section i do apologize

Anyway, i have an i5-760 @3.60GHz, i would like to get to 4.00GHz stable but unfortunately i cannot take my cpu any higher I have made a slight change in voltages and still no luck, can anyone tell me what i am doing wrong or do i have a unlucky chip ?

Thanks, Dario

__________________
Intel i5-3570k @ 4GHz // XSPC D5 AX360 // Gigabyte 7ZZx-UD3H-WB
8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz // Nvidia GTX780 Windforce
Corsair RM 750W // Seagate Barracuda 2TB // Samsung 840 EVO 250gb
Windows 8 Pro 64 Bit // BitFenix Shinobi XL // BenQ XL2420TX 24" 1920x1080

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-12, 03:21 PM
Byson Byson is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
unlucky chip i'd guess, may also depend on temps and motherboard overclocking capabilities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-12, 03:23 PM
Resonance's Avatar
Resonance Resonance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 196
It seems to be a dud chip to me.

I have the same problem on my FX-6100. I have it at 3.8Ghz and I can't take it past that, not even for saving my life.

I'm pretty sure mine is a dud as well. Gonna have to wait for the piledrivers.
__________________
Motherboard:Asus M5A99X EVO|| CPU: AMD FX-6100 4.6Ghz|| Graphics Card: PNY GTX 560|| Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB || SSD: 2x Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 120GB || HDD:WD Caviar Green 2TB|| CPU Cooling: H100 || Power Supply:Corsair Enthusiast Series TX650W || Case: NZXT Switch 810 || Monitor(s):Samsung 23" HP 23"|| Keyboard:K90 || Mouse:M90
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-12, 03:25 PM
Dario_92's Avatar
Dario_92 Dario_92 is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 467
Send a message via MSN to Dario_92 Send a message via Skype™ to Dario_92
Damn I have tried just about everything, oh well, 3.6Ghz is better than standard 2.88Ghz
__________________
Intel i5-3570k @ 4GHz // XSPC D5 AX360 // Gigabyte 7ZZx-UD3H-WB
8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz // Nvidia GTX780 Windforce
Corsair RM 750W // Seagate Barracuda 2TB // Samsung 840 EVO 250gb
Windows 8 Pro 64 Bit // BitFenix Shinobi XL // BenQ XL2420TX 24" 1920x1080

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-12, 03:29 PM
marsey99 marsey99 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,457
dude that cpu will do 4ghz.

what i dont know is if the lx will get it there as its a entry mobo and not known for being a great ocer.

if you post what you have tried voltage/setting wise people can give better help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-12, 03:52 PM
Dario_92's Avatar
Dario_92 Dario_92 is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 467
Send a message via MSN to Dario_92 Send a message via Skype™ to Dario_92
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

dude that cpu will do 4ghz.

what i dont know is if the lx will get it there as its a entry mobo and not known for being a great ocer.

if you post what you have tried voltage/setting wise people can give better help.
I cannot remember now, it was a while back and it has been bugging me since, when i built this pc i was on a budget that's why i chose a 1156 over 1366 and chose this mobo I know it is fully stable at 3.6GHz but as soon as i try 3.7GHz its unstable and it crashes

Edit: Spelling
__________________
Intel i5-3570k @ 4GHz // XSPC D5 AX360 // Gigabyte 7ZZx-UD3H-WB
8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz // Nvidia GTX780 Windforce
Corsair RM 750W // Seagate Barracuda 2TB // Samsung 840 EVO 250gb
Windows 8 Pro 64 Bit // BitFenix Shinobi XL // BenQ XL2420TX 24" 1920x1080

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-12, 12:46 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
First you should get off that terrible 1156 socket and movie to an 1155 or 2011. Then sell you i5.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-12, 02:19 AM
marsey99 marsey99 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,457
dude you need to go into the bios and check whats what @3.6ghz so we know what might be the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KING_OF_SAND View Post

First you should get off that terrible 1156 socket and movie to an 1155 or 2011. Then sell you i5.
not your most helpful post kos
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-12, 03:16 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post

dude you need to go into the bios and check whats what @3.6ghz so we know what might be the issue.

not your most helpful post kos
I know. Here is a helpful post.

Go into BIOS and drop down to stock clocks, then find the most stable/lowest voltage you can find. Then instead of raising the multiplier raise the FSB slightly until crash. From there bump the voltage till stable again then start raising the multiplier until un-stable again. Next raise the voltages until stable and instead of raising the multi raise the FSB. Do this back and forth until neither work. Then your conclusion should be "this is the highest my CPU goes".
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-07-13, 06:12 PM
bigfatyoda bigfatyoda is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Hey, so I'm new here, but I'd like to know if the changes made in the new gun metal and matte black versions (mainly the cut outs in the 5.25" drive bay for better push-pull rad support) have also been made in all the standard white editions? Or will the white editions be forever stuck with a lack of good push-pull support (outside of manually cutting out a piece yourself)?

I ask because I like the white colour better, but am thinking of putting in a 360mm rad with push-pull fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.