Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-04-12, 01:57 AM
AloiWheelz AloiWheelz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2
Hi so I am planning my build that I am going to be working on in the next month or so, and was wondering if anyone with personal experience could tell me what pump would be the quietest out of a Laing DDC or a D5. And If I choose to go with the D5, is the speed control option accessible in the XSPC Single D5 Pump Drive Bay Reservoir? I can't really see if there is a hole anywhere to be able to stick a flat-head screw driver through and adjust pump speed.

Thanks Guys and Girls. Help is really appreciated

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-12, 02:08 AM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
ive had both pump and the D5 is the quietest hands down, but not sure if its quiet in the res. Its quiet when you have the pump on sound dampening material but i think res pump combos are always louder.

im a silent freak, so if you wantt total silence put it at the bottom of your case with some foam under it!
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-12, 07:42 PM
Paalandre Paalandre is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Firat, I am also wondering about the DDC and D5. Just want to say thanks for replying on the thread.

Just one question about the D5. How do you mount it to your case? Do you have to make holes in your case or something like that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-12, 08:17 PM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
I mounted mine on foam and used very strong double sided sticky pads, on the mounting hardware i got with the pump top see below......

you can screw it to the bottom but i would recommend you do it my way as it makes it very quiet.

below in the image at the bottom you will see 2 D5's

[img]http://blg.mypicturetown.com/cache/wO%26al23*VgzabMCZAgjAchMdGMUpeH6%26Mg2ze3TZwicKzS rPtX%26%3DpJzf8bT1F2L/item.JPG?rot=1[/img]
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-12, 09:20 PM
Blackwhite's Avatar
Blackwhite Blackwhite is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 361
DDC 18W + Poweradjust or Auaero 4.0 Powerbooster and there is no quieter solution mate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-12, 09:26 PM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post

DDC 18W + Poweradjust or Auaero 4.0 Powerbooster and there is no quieter solution mate
I had that pump on 6inches of sound dampening material and it's frickin loud!!!! Try a D5 and you will understand!!
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-12, 11:29 PM
Paalandre Paalandre is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Will one D5 be enough in a loop with a 360x60mm radiator, 240x60mm radiator, cpu block and full gpu block, or do I need two?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-12, 12:00 AM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaalAndre View Post

Will one D5 be enough in a loop with a 360x60mm radiator, 240x60mm radiator, cpu block and full gpu block, or do I need two?
i have the exact same setup as you, but tbh i only got 2 incase one fails (the ddc failed on me and i was folding and my cpu went to 95c!!!) and secondly by having 2 i can run them on the lowest setting (vario model).

you dont HAVE to get to get 2 but i would recommend it! to keep the pressure up in your loop.

good luck
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-12, 12:07 AM
Blackwhite's Avatar
Blackwhite Blackwhite is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firat View Post

I had that pump on 6inches of sound dampening material and it's frickin loud!!!! Try a D5 and you will understand!!
You didn't read my post , didn't you?

Of course it is loud so that why I wrote to use it with power-adjust.

I bet with you for all money I have that your D5 will be much louder
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-12, 12:18 AM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black View Post

You didn't read my post , didn't you?

Of course it is loud so that why I wrote to use it with power-adjust.

I bet with you for all money I have that your D5 will be much louder
i guess i didnt, but my D5 at level 1 (where it is at now) doesnt even make a noise - im too nice to take your money
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.