Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-04-12, 01:48 AM
Renderz Renderz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Hey guys, I wanted to throw this one out to you. I recently had some bad luck with a Gigabyte SKT-2011 X79-UD3 I ordered from Aria; they rejected an RMA on the grounds that the board is stable at stock speeds, OC is not covered

I literally cannot over clock more than 10mhz, sometimes even 1mhz will cause instability.

I disagree with Aria's conclusion that Overclocking isn't defined as faulty, many of the board's functions is designed for overclocking; it comes with a CD that has overclocking features and of course a major proportion of the BIOS is designed so users can overclock.

They are now demanding that I make arrangements for me to have the board sent back to me at my expense which is infuriating.

I wanted to canvas your opinion; who is right? Aria or me?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-12, 01:55 AM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,301
overclocking use has never really been supported by retailers. I'd take it up with the Manufacturer imho its out of Aria's hands if it works stock.
__________________
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Intel 4770K
4x4Gb GSkill Snipers 1866
2x 240GB Kingston HyperX 3K's in Raid 0
HIS 7970's in xfire
Custom water Cooled
Corsair AX860
Corsair 780T
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-12, 02:08 AM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
imho if the company markets overclocking and provides software for it then it should be covered! most people who by this platform will overclock on it. so i find it a bit ironic when people say its not covered, why would for example MSI boards have OC genie/1 click overclock on the box then, if they are not going to cover it?????

Take it up with gigabyte, im sure they will sort you out.
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-12, 05:56 AM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,301
the retailers will market it the way the manufacturers provide info for. No retailer afaik supports overclocking unless its on their preoverclocked bundles then you have a claim with them outside that its a manu's issue not the retailer. Back when I first got started with overclocking most would not warranty a product if it had been overclocked. Now-a-days they encourage it to a degree
__________________
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Intel 4770K
4x4Gb GSkill Snipers 1866
2x 240GB Kingston HyperX 3K's in Raid 0
HIS 7970's in xfire
Custom water Cooled
Corsair AX860
Corsair 780T
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-12, 06:19 AM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,895
have being been in both markets of manufacturing and sales it is a tough call for the retailer.

not knowing the story, just upon what has been released, the retailer does sell over-clocked "kits"

and to follow-up a small issue as you say, this should have been a RMA. but, their deem with the

manufacturer to get their replacement. and replacing a working part isn't necessary. you'd have to

take this up with Gigabyte and thier customer service. now to get your part back, again, not knowing

Aria cs rep and what they told you, you should contact that same rep and see what can be done.

it sucks hard to find out this kind of issues, but then this isn't a stock issue and it's hard to get

"perfect" service from this venture.

airdeano
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-12, 08:26 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,916
You should have given them another BS reason why you gave it back. BTW AMAZON and Newegg will accept products for ANY reason, including OC instability. You may run into issues if you fry a board via OC. Also Gigabyte should be able to handle your return if you have OC issues, ASUS does.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-12, 09:13 AM
Jujumonkey Jujumonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 72
Does Aria's site advertise its overclocking abilities as part of its selling specs? if so then the 'not fit for purpose' cliche could be used to get yourself a replacement. As others have said though it sounds like you should be going straight to the manufacturer with this one
__________________
i5 760 @ 4.04 ghz (192x21), asus P7P55D PRO, sapphire 6870, 4 gig mushkin 1333, 650w antec trupower 2 modular, titan fenrir evo cooler, 1tb samsung f3 harddrive, cm sniper case
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-12, 09:46 AM
Umzok Umzok is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sussex
Posts: 69
Contact Gigabyte direct. They have fantastic customer service, in my experience, and they will sort out any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-12, 10:01 AM
jonnyfgm jonnyfgm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 235
unfortunately I'd say you're screwed dude

Even looking on the gigabyte website it doesn't specifically mention anything about overclocking. And unless it's sold in order to have the ability to overclock then it's "fit for purpose"

that said, if aria wont take it back that's pretty sucky of them in terms of customer service, I bet a good proportion of their customers do overclock, and despite their good prices i'd now be a bit wary about buying from them

Best bet is to find a supplier with a good 28 day or so no quibble returns policy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-12, 10:47 AM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
Have you ever thought it might be your cpu that isnt allowing you to overclock?

TBH overclocking is a freebie and in no way are you entitled to the extra performance, if they marketed stuff as guaranteed to overclock at least X% then sure you would be entitled but stuff is sold to work as is at stock speeds, just cause it has the options to maybe run faster doesnt mean it will run faster.
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.