Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Forum Teams > Redline Folding @ OC3D - 98860
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-03-12, 04:22 PM
jits h's Avatar
jits h jits h is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Hey guys,

Been wanting to make a dedicated F@H rig for sometime now, as my main rig is AMD based but too slow. But never come across the chance to do it. There is some help I need though, for instance, what brand/power rating PSU would be best? I've had a look around but I for my F@H rig I do not want to be spending a fortune. Also need some help on RAM, what RAM would be the best? And does ram really matter when folding?

Also, what CPU's/GPU's would be good for folding but not cost quite a lot?

Also forgot to add, would a stock cooler for a CPU be ok in maintaining decent temps?

__________________

Crosshair IV /\ Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.8Ghz /\ ASUS 6970 /\ Dominator GT 8GB /\ 300GB Veloci-Raptor /\ NorthQ Siberian Tiger Watercooler /\ Antec 1200 /\ Corsair K90 /\ Corsair M60: /\ Creative Gigaworks S750

F@H Rig:
HP XW6600 Workstation (2x 5430 @ 3Ghz)


Folding @ Home Team: 98860, Redline @ OC3D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-03-12, 07:10 PM
stevenwright6379 stevenwright6379 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tom's Magic cupbord
Posts: 996
long term is is more efficient to have a multi CPU set up (SR2 for example) but this obviously comes with a much greater up front cost.

best i would say is go for a decent brand of PSU (corsair for example) doesn't matter if it is bronze, silver, gold or platinum rated but the higher the better.

ram doesn't really matter so so whether it is slow DDR2 like 800MHz or DDR3 at 2000MHz it makes no difference.

you could always go for a old dual xeons workstation off ebay they tend to go quite cheap and have a lot of power

for GPUs i would suggest at the moment a GTX560Ti is the best performance per watt card and a couple of them brought used make for epic PPD though they are like gold dust if buying used (bare in mind that the cards can run on PCI-E2.0 x4 and still not get a drop in PPD).

stock heatsink should be fine if you aren't overclocking but then it depends on the CPU you would end up getting

hope this helps
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-03-12, 07:22 PM
jits h's Avatar
jits h jits h is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Strawberry View Post

long term is is more efficient to have a multi CPU set up (SR2 for example) but this obviously comes with a much greater up front cost.

best i would say is go for a decent brand of PSU (corsair for example) doesn't matter if it is bronze, silver, gold or platinum rated but the higher the better.

ram doesn't really matter so so whether it is slow DDR2 like 800MHz or DDR3 at 2000MHz it makes no difference.

you could always go for a old dual xeons workstation off ebay they tend to go quite cheap and have a lot of power

for GPUs i would suggest at the moment a GTX560Ti is the best performance per watt card and a couple of them brought used make for epic PPD though they are like gold dust if buying used (bare in mind that the cards can run on PCI-E2.0 x4 and still not get a drop in PPD).

stock heatsink should be fine if you aren't overclocking but then it depends on the CPU you would end up getting

hope this helps
Thanks for the reply

At the moment, Although I do really want a SR2 setup I simply cannot afford that at the time being, Im probably going for a single CPU setup. What CPU would give good enough PPD aside from the xeons?
__________________

Crosshair IV /\ Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.8Ghz /\ ASUS 6970 /\ Dominator GT 8GB /\ 300GB Veloci-Raptor /\ NorthQ Siberian Tiger Watercooler /\ Antec 1200 /\ Corsair K90 /\ Corsair M60: /\ Creative Gigaworks S750

F@H Rig:
HP XW6600 Workstation (2x 5430 @ 3Ghz)


Folding @ Home Team: 98860, Redline @ OC3D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-03-12, 07:25 PM
Firat's Avatar
Firat Firat is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK, London
Posts: 1,034
Intel i7 3930k ! OC that and you'll get high PPD!
__________________
The brave may not live for long but the cautious never live at all.
-
If it takes you longer to do something than to think it up, then you need to plan again.
-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-03-12, 07:28 PM
jits h's Avatar
jits h jits h is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wise_Silencer (Firat) View Post

Intel i7 3930k ! OC that and you'll get high PPD!
I wish I could afford that then I wouldn't have a problem finding a CPU
__________________

Crosshair IV /\ Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.8Ghz /\ ASUS 6970 /\ Dominator GT 8GB /\ 300GB Veloci-Raptor /\ NorthQ Siberian Tiger Watercooler /\ Antec 1200 /\ Corsair K90 /\ Corsair M60: /\ Creative Gigaworks S750

F@H Rig:
HP XW6600 Workstation (2x 5430 @ 3Ghz)


Folding @ Home Team: 98860, Redline @ OC3D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-03-12, 07:29 PM
stevenwright6379 stevenwright6379 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tom's Magic cupbord
Posts: 996
best single CPUs will be any of the i7s 1st and 2nd gen

obviously the faster you get the higher the PPD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-03-12, 07:38 PM
jits h's Avatar
jits h jits h is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Just out of curiosity would a dual chipset server motherboard work for folding? Its the cheap alternative I see to a SR2
__________________

Crosshair IV /\ Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.8Ghz /\ ASUS 6970 /\ Dominator GT 8GB /\ 300GB Veloci-Raptor /\ NorthQ Siberian Tiger Watercooler /\ Antec 1200 /\ Corsair K90 /\ Corsair M60: /\ Creative Gigaworks S750

F@H Rig:
HP XW6600 Workstation (2x 5430 @ 3Ghz)


Folding @ Home Team: 98860, Redline @ OC3D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-03-12, 07:40 PM
stevenwright6379 stevenwright6379 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tom's Magic cupbord
Posts: 996
I was just using the SR2 as a example as it is a well known dual CPU board other will work fine as long as it allows more than 1 CPU
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-03-12, 07:50 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by mini me View Post

Just out of curiosity would a dual chipset server motherboard work for folding? Its the cheap alternative I see to a SR2
Yes it'll work, but you won't be overclocking on most server or workstation boards.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-03-12, 08:02 PM
jits h's Avatar
jits h jits h is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

Yes it'll work, but you won't overclocking on most server or workstation boards.
I don't usually overclock my components anyway, just leave them be Think I might have to go for a server board then
__________________

Crosshair IV /\ Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.8Ghz /\ ASUS 6970 /\ Dominator GT 8GB /\ 300GB Veloci-Raptor /\ NorthQ Siberian Tiger Watercooler /\ Antec 1200 /\ Corsair K90 /\ Corsair M60: /\ Creative Gigaworks S750

F@H Rig:
HP XW6600 Workstation (2x 5430 @ 3Ghz)


Folding @ Home Team: 98860, Redline @ OC3D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.