Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-02-12, 11:41 PM
Paalandre Paalandre is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Hi, I have been struggling with my laptop for a long time now. The first problems was that it was overheating when I was playing games, but then I found out that the laptop doesn't shut down when I play starcraft2, but it lags a lot, so much that its not playable past the 7min mark.

Recently I tried to down clock the GPU to prevent the overheating issue so I could try other games, I downloaded MSI afterburner and noticed that the chart was really strange compared to my main rig.

I then tested it again with the windows task manager thing that shows how much of each core is being used, and that to had a really strange chart.

Does anyone know if this is normal/ how to fix it/ what causes it/ have the same problem?

All help is welcome

Pictures of the charts:

[spoiler]

Afterburner:

http://i.imgur.com/zZe8A.png

CPU load:

http://i.imgur.com/vkiCO.png

[/spoiler]

PC specs:

[spoiler]

Acer Aspire 4935

Core 2 Duo T6400 2,0ghz

GeForce 9300M GS 512MB

4gb memory

[/spoiler]

Mvh Paal Andre

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-02-12, 09:41 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,570
your laptop is at the brink of the minimum specs for most games, especially starcraft2.

your laptop is NOT a gaming laptop

please check what other apps/services are running on your machine.

[ NOTE: please be aware that a latest microsoft update for .NET was very buggy will memory leakage. they are aware of this and and an update should be out this week ]
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-02-12, 09:53 AM
Paalandre Paalandre is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
I know its no a gaming laptop, but I would really like to know why the cpu is going up and down from 70-100% and the gpu is at around 25% and sometimes goes up to 100%.

I'm not sure what version of .net i got on this PC, only thing I know is that I haven't updated it in ages.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-02-12, 09:58 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,570
i think you need to give it a good service

in accessories->system tools, there is an application called "Disk Cleanup"... run it.

then, find a good registry cleaner (like CCleaner) and run that too.
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-02-12, 08:17 PM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,878
Starcraft 2 is poorly coded. My cpu and gpu to the same thing.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.