Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-05-06, 10:02 AM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Seagate 750gb Hard Drives.

Yep title says all really, these drives are big, with 180gb a platter. Available in both ATA-100 and Sata II.

Just hope they don't fail on you tbh .

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-06, 12:47 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Noiceness! A true tb of space when u slap a pair together, that's where it's at
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-06, 10:53 AM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
Hmmmm...May eventually have to get a few
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-06, 10:56 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Personally i've never been a fan of Seagate. Had a couple of their drives fail on me, and never touched them since

750gb tho....Very nice. After owning a 1tb Raid 5 array, i know how hard it is to fill the space.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-06, 11:01 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I can't even fill 50% of my 200gb!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-06, 11:08 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Personally i've never been a fan of Seagate. Had a couple of their drives fail on me, and never touched them since
bought one 160gb 7200.9 recently and it has served me well but their is a performance drag sometimes when it comes to cpu usage but believe it has to do with windows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I can't even fill 50% of my 200gb!
what do you do with your computer ?

have 2x160gb and have about 20-70gb free space
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-06, 11:26 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I do usual stuff - Game, listen to music occassionally - review all of the OC3D stuff on it - usual thing ya know?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-06, 11:40 AM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
@XMS - I have to agree. 2 days ago I had one of my 7200.9s fail on me. If this were a one time thing then I would be ok but this is the 4th Seagate drive to fail on me in 6 months. My Raptors are still going strong from when they first came out with no problems yet.
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-06, 02:55 PM
jiffz jiffz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phnom_Penh
Yep title says all really, these drives are big, with 180gb a platter. Available in both ATA-100 and Sata II.

Just hope they don't fail on you tbh .
How does that saying go again? Don't put all ur eggs in one basket???

PC equivalent: Don't put all ur pr0n on 1 hard drive
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-06, 05:59 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jiffz'
PC equivalent: Don't put all ur pr0n on 1 hard drive
thats what raid1 is for
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.