Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays

Old 19-01-12, 06:10 PM
OC3D Elite

Hi guys,

I'm currently using this monitor and have been very happy with it for the last year but feel the need for an upgrade, always fun!

The biggest reason is that I'd like a bigger screen so something in the 27"-32" bracket (give or take an inch) would be sexy.

I'm playing with around a £300 budget and it will be used on occasion for a bit of gaming, I barely watch tv so im not fussed about tuners and and I also use my own speakers so don't care about the sound quality.

I've been browsing around looking for something with stats no worse than:

1080P (not fussed about 2500x1600)

5ms gtg

5mil:1 contrast

250 cd/m2 brightness

60hz refresh rate

Having said that I'm no expert at choosing monitors so I might not entirely be looking for the right things which is where your help would be much appreciated as always

So far I've come across the likes of:

Acer S273HLABMII

There are also several monitors mentioned in other OC3D threads I'll be looking into.

I also came across this passive 3d LG which claims to be able to turn 2d images into 3d and the reviews I've read across the web suggest that there's no significant image quality loss - especially at the smaller screen sizes. Is the idea of playing Skyrim in 3D affecting my judgement or could this actually work?

So:

1. Am I looking for the right things? I'm not at all clued up on screen surface types...

2. Passive 3d an option or not do you think?

3. Any advice on a 2DHD monitor if question 2 is a no go?

M&P

OC3D Overclockers Club Member #006 (Alec Trevelyan was always harder than Bond anyway)
Old 19-01-12, 07:09 PM
OC3D Elite

i think you need to look into EPS monitors dude
Old 19-01-12, 07:18 PM
OC3D Elite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post