Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-01-12, 10:56 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,908


What happens if you take one of the fastest SSDs on the market, the Corsair Force GT, and pair two up in RAID0? The quest for 1GB/s begins...

Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-12, 11:33 AM
Ya93sin's Avatar
Ya93sin Ya93sin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 1,511
That's some pretty sweet performance there
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-12, 11:46 AM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,570
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-12, 12:15 PM
khorngor khorngor is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Correct me if im wrong, but last i checked you can't have both TRIM support and RAID enabled, its one or the other.

Though i know Intel is working on something to make it happen, but im yet to hear of it being available.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-12, 12:28 PM
alicarve alicarve is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by khorngor View Post

Correct me if im wrong, but last i checked you can't have both TRIM support and RAID enabled, its one or the other.

Though i know Intel is working on something to make it happen, but im yet to hear of it being available.
Thats what i thought might have changed now though
__________________
CM Cosmos II - 4gb GTX680 - I7 3770k
Corsair H100 - Corsair Dom GTs 2133mhz CL9 - Corsair AX850 - 2TB WD Caviar Black - Corsair Force 120gb
Asus Maximus V Formula - Corsair SP2500

Rig Gallery | My Setup | Other Builds
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-12, 12:29 PM
shortstrawfate shortstrawfate is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
This is exciting... I use a 1TB drive for the data on my PC, it's looking like a couple of years down the line with a small premium I'll be able to use SSD for boot *and* data, then relegate the mechanicals to backup duties.

Is this using the Intel RAID setup? Just intrigued as RAID-5 was appalling on my PC at work, whereas a straight stripe was miles better since there's no parity, but I always suspected that the driver-based RAID had some overheads even in RAID-0. It's an older board though (something MSI with an i7-850 on it, not sure what, it's an off-the-shelf HP.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-12, 12:39 PM
khorngor khorngor is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alicarve View Post

Thats what i thought might have changed now though
Pretty confident that you still can't have it, i see myself fairly up to date with tech news.

http://www.techpowerup.com/155368/In...Possible-.html

The article i read about Intel working on it, but im yet to hear anything more about it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-12, 12:53 PM
Ya93sin's Avatar
Ya93sin Ya93sin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 1,511
Doesn't this have both TRIM and Garbage Collection support? Maybe the Garbage collection works with RAID-0 even if TRIM doesn't
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-12, 12:56 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ya93sin View Post

Doesn't this have both TRIM and Garbage Collection support? Maybe the Garbage collection works with RAID-0 even if TRIM doesn't
If it doesn't it's not worth using. I did try my best to read the review, but honestly I don't really find SSDs exciting and my attention was grabbed more by the rig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-12, 01:05 PM
sheroo's Avatar
sheroo sheroo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,883
From what I understand Trim does not work with Raid 0. However GC does. I've been running an SSD Raid 0 setup for over a year and have yet to notice any perceivable drop in performance.

Brian, the only thing you missed out was to include your postal address.
__________________
"All his life has he looked away... to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was."



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.