Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Drivers & BIOS
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-08-11, 08:51 AM
Mr Muggles Mr Muggles is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 321
I normally just DL the new ones i.e. 11.8 and install them over the top and don't bother.

Am I being naughty?

__________________
God wears flares
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-08-11, 09:03 AM
RedgyK RedgyK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 221
I only bother with that if theres any glitches or problems.. If there is problems, uninstalling and running Driver Cleaner Pro has solved pretty much any problems I've had with AMD cards/drivers..

The crossfire profiles, or "Application Profiles" is what AMD call them I always uninstall the old ones before installing new ones..

Haven't had any problems lately with installing on top, and I can't be bothered when it works perfectly this easier way
__________________
Main Rig

i7 950 @ 4.0GHz | Noctua NH-D14 | GA-X58A-UD3R | 2x 5850 Crossfire | Corsair DDR3 6GB, 1600Mhz | Silverstone Raven 2



HTPC

X2 240 @ 2.8GHz | Noctua C12P SE-14 | MSI K9A2GM-V3 | HD 5750 | Kingston 4GB | Antec 300 White

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-08-11, 09:20 AM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 7,568
I haven't uninstaled old drivers before installing new ones since the ATI 9.1 drivers about three years ago and I have never had a problem.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - i5 2500k - Gigabyte Z68 UD3H - 8gb 1600mhz Mushkin Blackline - Sapphire Tri-X R9 290 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Samsung F3 1tb HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair HX850.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-08-11, 02:14 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
its better to mate so you dont get conflicts or anything
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-08-11, 06:46 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 7,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

its better to mate so you dont get conflicts or anything
Never had a any probs in the two years and a bit years of doing it tbh. Not saying it couldn't cause probs, just that I haven't had any.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - i5 2500k - Gigabyte Z68 UD3H - 8gb 1600mhz Mushkin Blackline - Sapphire Tri-X R9 290 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Samsung F3 1tb HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair HX850.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-08-11, 08:42 PM
Natashaful Natashaful is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaton Moor
Posts: 307
Amd deisgn those drivers to be installed over each other, I never had a problem untill i once uninstalled some and installed a newer version that's when i had a problem, But i bought a SSD just after.. back to just install over..
__________________
If it ain't broken Mod it, If it is broken Buy another and Mod them both!.

Want to race!.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-08-11, 03:25 AM
MaddocksL MaddocksL is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 37
Steam tells me what to click
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.