Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-02-11, 06:42 AM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
Ok i have a 1tb hardrive and a 80gb solid state drive. I like using the ssd just to boot windows and a few applications such as itunes and photoshop that take a while to load up (everything else is fast enough) and I want everything else on my 1tb hardrive. I tried this setup before and I could never get it to work. whenever i installed something I had to specify where, whenever i saved something i had to specify where, i told itunes to save the music to the 1tb hardrive and what it ended up doing is saving it to both the 1tb and the ssd. I was wondering if there is any good way to setup an ssd and what do other people do because other people seem to love their ssd/hdd combination but i just had nothing but problems so i was thinking of just installing windows on the 1tb and linux on the 80gb (i dual boot linux for the past 3 years).

What do you guys think I should do? only reason i got the ssd was because I got it for 100$ and because I see many people who love their SSDs but I wasnt expecting the problems.

Oh and my program files folder is 190gb so I cant just install it all to there anyways and have all the saves to the 1tb I would have to pick and choose programs that load slow.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-11, 08:24 AM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
I have a SSD boot, Win 7 ultimate and virus scanner, ccleaner usual everyday operating items on there. ( 128gb )

Storage drives i use a 500gb WD and a 250gb Sammy spinpoint.

If you want windows to automatically save to your storage drive - users folder and the likes you will need a regedit.

Google it, its fairly easy but back your registry up and all your data before proceeding.

Something along the lines of

1/ Open the Registry Editor by selecting Start > Run > Regedit.

2/ Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion.

3/ In the right pane, double-click ProgramFilesDir and change the path in the String Editor to the drive and folder you want (i.e. H:\Program Files). You must also modify the entry for ProgramFilesPath. If your path is E:\ like mine is, the path would be E:\Program Files

4/ Exit the Registry Editor and restart your computer.

With regards to Itunes

Go Edit>Preferences>Advanced. You will see in the top box the default location mine is C:\Users\lasher\Music\iTunes\iTunes Media

To change you need to

Change > enter new preferred location i.e. E:\Users\lasher\Music\iTunes\iTunes Media

then - As the new location is set for new media but not the stuff already dumped on the SSD, Go

File > Library> organise Library ---- Consolidate files > OK

Check the new location is an exact copy of previous location

Manually delete the old location one verified.

I take no responsibility for lost media, old specialist films , rare music, etc etc.

To check TRIM is working

Open command prompt, type

fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify

DisableDeleteNotify = 1 (Windows TRIM commands are disabled)

DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)

To enable TRIM (if it's disabled), go to command prompt and type:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0

To disable TRIM, to go command prompt and type:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 1

Bit of a long winded post but you need to invest in a little work to set these up right, they are new tech ( reasonably ) and take a little getting used to.

Ive found the whole OS to be much snappier, i have a few games installed on my SSD and they load instantly. Also check your running the latest Firmware for your particular model of SSD.
__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-11, 02:18 PM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
So you say I should install my virus scanner / cccleaner / itunes / windows to the ssd. and t hen edit the registry so that programs will automatically try to save to HDD and so that programs will automatically install to HDD and then after its all setup. when I try to install a new program it will automatically install to the hdd unless specified by me? sounds cool.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-02-11, 03:28 AM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
You also have to change the other files in it too though right? like common and stuff. Basically anything that is related to the programs has to be changed to E:\Program Files ? or E:\Program Files\CommonFiles ? And then avg and itunes stuff needs to be advanced installed so that I can force it to install in the C drive? I am on the pc right now with the ssd trying to change things and stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-02-11, 04:04 AM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
Alright reinstaled AGAIN! now i got it all perfect but it wont let me delete the files in the original programfiles and programfiles(x86) i looked online on how to change the permissions and such and still every time I think it will let me delete it it comes up with a brand new stupid excuse of why not to let me delete it. I can understand giving you a warning but cmon just let me delete it!

How did you set yours up? you simply edited the registry and then deleted program files and it worked perfectly?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-02-11, 06:10 AM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
This is rediculous. I am about ready to just do what I was about to do and install windows on the 1tb and linux on the 80gb. I changed the registry and programs still try to install to the 80gb ssd. Even when directed to the D drive ati CCC installed on the D drive AND the C drive.

HOW DO YOU DO IT!? So far the only sucess I had today was getting the libraries to sucessfully change to the 1tb drive.

Should I just install everything but my games to the ssd or what I really see no point directing it to the 1tb only to find it on both the 1tb and the ssd.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-02-11, 04:53 PM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
sorry for all the replies to myself. but I finally managed to get this silliness to work I realized (after the 8th reinstall of windows) that most programs now try to instal to my E drive only certain programs that go to default location of C to install are the ones I have to change but the ones that rely on my default install location (such as ccleaner which I had to manually set to the C drive) work great. And I found that no matter what ati CCC will install to both drives I installed to the C drive though since its small enough and it boots up with my computer.

As for libraries I found out how to move them and set them up so all my libraries are on my 1tb

also I couldnt get the stupid command prompt command to see if trim was working but I realized I had to right click "run as admin" and after g etting it to work I found that I in fact do have trim enabled

also for itunes since I have moved my libraries it automatically saves to my library which is on my 1tb drive so its perfect
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-02-11, 01:02 AM
megamindstorm101 megamindstorm101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 156
I guess I am just going to install back on the 1tb I tried it this way and I have everything on it but at least 3 times now I have encountered some kind of problem with something not working or not installing to the right place or something. And it isnt jsut because its a solid state drive if I ever had a 160gb hardrive that I installed windows on and then put everything on the 1tb drive I would have the same problem. There is no perfect way to get programs to install where I want, I set the default to E and sometimes it jsut confuses programs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-03-11, 12:26 AM
mojo1990 mojo1990 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK Leicestershire
Posts: 125
Send a message via MSN to mojo1990
Quote:
Originally Posted by megamindstorm101 View Post

I guess I am just going to install back on the 1tb I tried it this way and I have everything on it but at least 3 times now I have encountered some kind of problem with something not working or not installing to the right place or something. And it isnt jsut because its a solid state drive if I ever had a 160gb hardrive that I installed windows on and then put everything on the 1tb drive I would have the same problem. There is no perfect way to get programs to install where I want, I set the default to E and sometimes it jsut confuses programs.
I have been thinking in the same lines as you. Many people have suggested the best way to configure your storage is to use a SSD for your primary OS/Boot Drive, and then a mechanical HDD for secondary storage. Obviously I hadn't realized the problems that are faced with doing this affectively and this article has helped me considerably.

Sorry to hijack your Topic but is it okay if I ask a few questions since you have had firsthand experience? I was just wondering how you would go about installing windows 7 and then installing key software? For example, would you keep Microsoft Office or Steam and other such programs that you want to run fast on the SSD? Or would you also change the registry so they also go to HDD and save space in your SSD?

Also by default the Boot Drive is partitioned into (C system and (R Recovery if you only have one drive. Is this ideal if you are thinking of using a secondary HDD, or is it best to keep the SSD with only the (C system memory and use the secondary HDD for the the (RRecovery?
__________________
Gigabyte Z68X-UD7 Motherboard

Intel i5 2500K Processor

Gainward GTX 580 Phantom GPU

Mushkin Copper Head 8GB (4x2G

Corsair 650D case

Corsair 850AX PSU

XSPC Dual 5.25 reservoir pump Bay

XSPC 240 Rad

EK Supreme HF CPU Water block

EK GTX 580 water block

PrimoFlex Tubing

EK fluid

Bitspower Compression Fittings

MDPC Custom Braiding
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.