Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-02-11, 04:17 AM
Blasphemer Blasphemer is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Hey all.

Ok I just got a Sata3 WD 1T 64mb cache in Sata2 mode (Jumpered Pins 5 and 6).

I have Win7 (enterprise 90 day evaluation) and games on my exsisting Sata2 WD 500Gig 32mb Cache.

I'm wanting to do a clean istall now that I have Win7 Ultimate 64.

So how should I setup my drives?

1. Should I continue to use the Sata2 WD 500Gig 32mb Cache for Win7 and have my games on Sata3 WD 1T 64mb cache in Sata2 mode? Or will my older drive bottle neck performance of games running off the new drive?

2. Should I have every thing on the Sata3 WD 1T 64mb cache in Sata2 mode and use my 500 gig for storage?

The new drive is faster even in sata2 mode. I got something like 67mb/sec read on the 500gig and 116mb/sec read on the 1T 64mb cache.

What do you guys think?

Tom?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-11, 06:21 AM
Stryker64 Stryker64 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,166
The only way a hard drive can bottle neck gaming is with your loading times, but it doesn't actually affect performance, you just might spend a little longer sitting on the loading screens.

Also when it comes to speeds with mechanical hard drives it's proportional to how much stuff you have on the hard drive. A hard drive that is almost full runs slower than a hard drive that is empty. What I would do is install the OS on the WD 1TB hard drive, since it is faster have games on that, but all movies and music on the 500GB drive, but honestly it won't make much difference at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-11, 08:32 AM
Blasphemer Blasphemer is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

The only way a hard drive can bottle neck gaming is with your loading times, but it doesn't actually affect performance, you just might spend a little longer sitting on the loading screens.

Also when it comes to speeds with mechanical hard drives it's proportional to how much stuff you have on the hard drive. A hard drive that is almost full runs slower than a hard drive that is empty. What I would do is install the OS on the WD 1TB hard drive, since it is faster have games on that, but all movies and music on the 500GB drive, but honestly it won't make much difference at all.
Ok thanks. I think I'll just keep things the way they are in that case. Format and load Win7 on the 500gig, then when I get a OCZ vertex SSD I can just transfer the OS to that and then use the 500 gig for storage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.