Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-02-11, 10:15 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 16,232
Today we test one of the first motherboards to sport the AMD Fusion APU

Continue Reading

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-11, 11:05 AM
Stryker64 Stryker64 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,166
AMD Fusion seems like the perfect choice for a HTPC, a few questions, is this capable of 3D? Also does it upscale well?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-11, 12:10 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
Hi Zeals,

As the new HD 6310 GPU supports UVD 3.0, this means that DivX decoding is now included (on top of the existing MPEG2/H.264) and also Blu-Ray 3D support. However neither Asus or AMD have clearly stated that the HD 6310 will decode 3D well. I suppose this will become more clear as time goes on however my initial impressions are that a HTPC for higher end functionality such as 3D support or anything else that may command some more CPU horse power is probably better off with a conventional CPU and dedicated GPU.

I hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-11, 12:37 PM
Stryker64 Stryker64 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,166
Thnx for the fast reply Mul, really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-11, 03:54 PM
wotevajjjj wotevajjjj is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Belgium;Wieze
Posts: 662
Send a message via MSN to wotevajjjj Send a message via Skype™ to wotevajjjj
will my NHD14 fit ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-11, 05:33 PM
sadbuttrue sadbuttrue is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LAKEFIELD, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by wotevajjjj View Post

will my NHD14 fit ?
Go for it bro!

Pros: you'll have the coolest running 18W CPU on the block. WooHoo! Bragging rights.

Cons: You'll probably need to work on the mount - I don't see the usual AM3 hardware on that board. And do you figure £150 or more on a full-tower case to accommodate the Noctua is about right for a rig like this? An HAF-X or a Lanboy Air would be quite stylish.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-11, 06:39 PM
oneseraph's Avatar
oneseraph oneseraph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 105
So here is an interesting little tidbit. The mini ITX version is on it's way. You can check it out here.

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_I...1lz&templete=2

Looks like it includes WiFi plus blue-tooth 3.0. Anyway, just look at the specs on this little monster. The feature set is extremely impressive for a Mini ITX board. I think this would make a sweet little pc that you could mount to the back of a monitor for a clutter and noise free desk. Definitely good for email, web browsing, word, netflix and watching movies.
__________________
Regards OneSeraph
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-11, 10:22 AM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
I think I’ll pass and just buy a notebook with power consumption of 15W and that’s with the screen on

__________________
CORE I7 920 @ 4.3 GHz - GTX 480 SLI OC TO 800,1600,4000 ----- CPU-Z
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-11, 10:27 AM
Stryker64 Stryker64 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,166
Well an ideal HTPC board will be mITX and have enough power for 3D playback, and a decent amount of DVD upscaling.

So as Mul suggested probably wait for a more powerful AMD Fusion APU, and than bolt on a nice HTPC soundcard and PROFITS!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-11, 10:18 PM
anikhtos anikhtos is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
ANyone to comment that when you add the discrete card aand run the test to see how much it will bottleneck did you check the cpu score from 954 to 2020??

it doubled. so my question is using a discrete vga does indeed improves cpu perfomanse?? so a few more test with winzip and other cpu programs to see if with a discrete vga they will improve. if they improve then it will be interesting :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.