Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-12-10, 07:13 PM
slam159 slam159 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Hey There

First question:

My PC takes bloody ages to boot Windows completely on booting up, and was wondering why, any ideas? Windows 7 Enterprise x64.

Second Question:

What should I upgrade first?

RAM/Graphics Card

Currently have 4gb Kingston 9-9-9-24

Palit 768mb 460

Tah

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-12-10, 07:18 PM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
Need to look at the running processes / services.

If youve had it a while it could be full of loads of junk the registry isnt using. Have a good clean out and try something like CCleaner ( backup registry first )

2nd question

non ... Go with an SSD for the OS

( thats if your rig spec is the same in your profile )
__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-12-10, 07:20 PM
Aurus_OC Aurus_OC is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by slam159 View Post

First question:

My PC takes bloody ages to boot Windows completely on booting up, and was wondering why, any ideas? Windows 7 Enterprise x64.

Second Question:

What should I upgrade first?

RAM/Graphics Card

Currently have 4gb Kingston 9-9-9-24

Palit 768mb 460
What are your other system specs (Motherboard, CPU etc)?

Your graphics card is just fine. What storage solution do you use? You may want to think about upgrading to a SSD for your boot drive.

EDIT: Well if these are the specs from your profiel, definetely go with an SSD or if you don't already have one at least something like 7200rpm Samsung SpinPoint F3. Also clean your registry.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-12-10, 07:41 PM
slam159 slam159 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Hey

I run CCleaner on a regular basis and it is still slow.

I currently have a 7.2k F3, considering getting some more RAM + SSD because I only have a dual channel setup and i'm on x58
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-12-10, 08:22 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,613
i dont think tri channel with make that much of a diff.

SSD tho mate all the way,if you can afford to get say 6gb of redline/blackine then that wont hurt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-12-10, 08:32 PM
BigIan88's Avatar
BigIan88 BigIan88 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 555
Send a message via MSN to BigIan88
if your using a HDD try defragging it, if its badly corrupted it will decrease performace quite significantly in addition to too many programmes trying to auto-start, try removing some non essential programmes from the auto-start list and see if it makes a difference - if it doesnt work and your able to back up your important files theres always the option of formatting and reinstalling windows so you have the lightening fast fresh install

I agree with the posters above though - if you can afford a 30/40GB SSD that will be the single most noticeable improvement you will notice - on my Samsung F3 it took around 45-50 seconds to boot windows, now with the Skill Pheonix it takes 12 seconds!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.