Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-11-10, 03:22 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Hey guys,

im thinking of getting the SWIFTECH MCP655 PC WATER COOLING PUMP for my setup, how would i put a compression fitting on it?

__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
  #2  
Old 14-11-10, 04:06 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

Hey guys,

im thinking of getting the SWIFTECH MCP655 PC WATER COOLING PUMP for my setup, how would i put a compression fitting on it?
You can buy after market tops dude, pretty much everyone bins off the stock tops. I for one one just think of them a protective packing for delivery! Soon as I get them the crappy top is straight off. All major retailers will sell a variety of replacements including ones with res's built in.

If you had done your WC home work you should have come across these.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
  #3  
Old 14-11-10, 04:14 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

You can buy after market tops dude, pretty much everyone bins off the stock tops. I for one one just think of them a protective packing for delivery! Soon as I get them the crappy top is straight off. All major retailers will sell a variety of replacements including ones with res's built in.

If you had done your WC home work you should have come across these.
Yh i have just come across the EK-D5 X-TOP G1/4 Rev.2, i will get that for the pump.

Going to be challenging this watercooling set up as everything id going to be mounted externally due that lack of room the my ft02 case
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
  #4  
Old 14-11-10, 04:21 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

You can buy after market tops dude, pretty much everyone bins off the stock tops. I for one one just think of them a protective packing for delivery! Soon as I get them the crappy top is straight off. All major retailers will sell a variety of replacements including ones with res's built in.

If you had done your WC home work you should have come across these.
Also is one phobya xtreme quad radiator be enough for 2 x gtx 580's because they do not run as hot as the 480's plus they are going to be water cooled?
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
  #5  
Old 14-11-10, 05:56 PM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Darlington
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via Skype™ to mayhem
Just be careful which top you replace if you do. Also of the newer pumps have new fets that are burning out with after market tops and this is a major problem as of right now. There is a full forum post over at XS about this problem and these pumps and after market tops.

you have been warned.
  #6  
Old 14-11-10, 06:01 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

Just be careful which top you replace if you do. Also of the newer pumps have new fets that are burning out with after market tops and this is a major problem as of right now. There is a full forum post over at XS about this problem and these pumps and after market tops.

you have been warned.
any way of getting around this problem? i prefer to use compression fittings of barb fittings
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
  #7  
Old 14-11-10, 06:22 PM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Darlington
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via Skype™ to mayhem
I dont know about compression fitting as i have never used them my self. I use only barbs and then clips to hold them in place i dont like the idea of compression fittings my self but im very much old school on this train of thought ...
  #8  
Old 14-11-10, 07:56 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

I dont know about compression fitting as i have never used them my self. I use only barbs and then clips to hold them in place i dont like the idea of compression fittings my self but im very much old school on this train of thought ...
i read about that the compression fitting have less chance of coolant leaking from them than the barb fittings but most pumps i seen still have the barb connections on them and plus i seen many systems with these bitspower and koolance compression fittings. it just made me wounder how they would use pump with barb connections in the systems.
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
  #9  
Old 14-11-10, 08:27 PM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Darlington
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via Skype™ to mayhem
that's bollocks to be honest as if you fit a barb fitting properly you'll have no problems.

I never used a compression as they are just bling and way over priced for my liking.
  #10  
Old 14-11-10, 08:30 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

thats bollocks to be honest as if you fit a barb fitting properly you'll have no problems.
thats what i have been thinking aswell, a friend of mine has a very basic water cooling for a core 2 quad cpu for about 3 years now and he aint had no problems. I guess you just have to put the setup together and wait to see if there any leaks or not.
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.