Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-11-10, 11:15 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,701
Before SSDs there was the Western Digital VelociRaptor. With price per GB seemingly stable, it's time to revisit the HDD performance King.

Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-10, 11:28 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Before SSDs there was the Western Digital VelociRaptor. With price per GB seemingly stable, it's time to revisit the HDD performance King.

Continue Reading
They still pretty amazing drives, i got a 120gb ssd for my operating system, 300gb velociraptor for my programs and games also a 2tb sata drive for my music and HD Video's

There still alot of people who would still buy them as they are becoming cheaper
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-10, 11:30 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

They still pretty amazing drives, i got a 120gb ssd for my operating system, 300gb velociraptor for my programs and games also a 2tb sata drive for my music and HD Video's
How dose that setup work for you?

Work well?

I am thinking of setting my system up the same way.
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-10, 11:39 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

How dose that setup work for you?

Work well?

I am thinking of setting my system up the same way.
It works extremely well, you know where everything is and it easy to manage files on the pc. I find that since upgrading to this setup from just one 1tb drive with everything on it, my pc has become so much responsive and storage is not a problem no more

I would recommend a setup like this to everyone
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-10, 11:42 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
I just would use it for large programs, games and what not and the SSD for windows and smaller programs.

I got to much data to fit on a 600GB drive 5.5TB to much
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-10, 11:45 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

I just would use it for large programs, games and what not and the SSD for windows and smaller programs.

I got to much data to fit on a 600GB drive 5.5TB to much
5.5tb ? that a lot of data, you would need 3 x 2tb drives or more for storage
__________________
| EVGA DARK X79| CaseLabs STH10| 4930K | 16GB Platinums| 2 X EVGA GTX780 SC W/ACX|
| 256GB 840 Pro & 500GB 840| Strider ST-1500| Ducky Shine 3 SOTY Edition| Corsair M65| Asus PB298Q 29"|
| JBL Control 5|[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-10, 11:49 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
I got one 1tb, one 1.5TB and 2x 2TB.

But my OS is slow as heck so this 600GB 10k RPM drive would serve nicely next to a Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 60GB SSD

since I'm a Western digital fan and Mushkin seems promising
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-10, 12:17 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Before SSDs there was the Western Digital VelociRaptor.
And 15k LVD Cheetahs

I'm not sold on these drives. I would rather buy 4 Samsung F3 and raid them.

WD need to get with the times and get some SSD going. Infact what better way to progress the Raptor than to bring out an SSD that trumps everything else?

Sadly WD lately are reminding me of Jack Horner in the movie Boogie Nights. They seem to be refusing to get with the times and it's odd Bryan mentioned VCR because WD are living in the VCR age.

It will cost them eventually. By the time they do release a SSD (and let's face it they're going to have to) the entire world will come down on them like we all did on Nvidia for a bitterly dissapointing start with the 4 series (above all price was the deciding factor on that one, at least now they're cheap enough to ignore all the flaws).

Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

I got one 1tb, one 1.5TB and 2x 2TB.

But my OS is slow as heck so this 600GB 10k RPM drive would serve nicely next to a Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 60GB SSD

since I'm a Western digital fan and Mushkin seems promising
Just be careful. On SATA 3 controllers they can act up and after reading a review on them in Custom PC (though admittedly one, not Raid 0) they weren't anything special. And by the time you raid 0 them for over £400 you can buy a huge SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-10, 06:15 PM
steve30x steve30x is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 437
Ive been using Raid0 with a year with two 250GB HDD's and it is faster than a single HDD but when it comes to small 4k - 28k files it is a whole lot slower than a single HDD. Sometimes when I am doing a defrag I have to restart the defrag process because the HDD's get stuck on a 4K file no matter what defrag software I use. Ive always liked to get two 300GB Veloceraptors and raid them , but with my current case I cant immaging how much resonance across my computer desk that would cause. With three 7200rpm HDD's the desk resonates horribly from my HDD's
__________________
Fractal Design Define R4 - Intel Core I5 760 @ 3.6GHz 1.2V
Palit GTX680 (Stock cooler)
-
Asus Maximus III Gene
8GIG Corsair XMS3 1600mhz - Corsair HX1000
BENQ XL2411Z - Asus Xonar D2 - Logitech Z906

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.