Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-10-10, 06:36 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
I been thinking about this for some time now, I'm looking to build a second PC for use by my mother, brother and friends who visit.

It would be a good PC but also fairly cheap, Running a single video card, single hard drive, 4gb RAM and so on.. nothing to advanced but a good gaming machine not needed to run high details but probably be a 5770 or a 460 since the prices of them are said to drop and probably will be the same as a 5770 for a while.

Any way back to my real question/s

I've loved my Intel's the past few years but been thinking about building a AMD rig just because I haven't had one in a while and a AMD rig as a second PC doesn't need as much preformance that I looked for in my main PC

So whats AMD like in a basic gaming rig?

This Rig will probably be running F@H as well during its use.

Say some thing along the lines of

AMD PHENOM II X4 965 AM3 3.4 GHZ QUADCORE or

AMD PHENOM II X6 1055T AM3 2.8GHZ HEXACORE

vs

INTEL CORE i5 650 3.2GHz 4MB or

INTEL CORE i5 760 2.8GHz 8MB

And would like to know of a good ASUS AM3 Board to..

Thoughts...?

--Tnx--

__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-10-10, 07:00 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
so your gna fold with the CPU and 1 card?

well a 460 is a deffo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-10-10, 07:47 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
Yeah.

And I was pretty sold on the 460 and was never really impressed with the 5770 any ways, Was jus the Idea of a AMD build, but there is no point spending the same amount as a 460 on a card that preforms worse.
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-10-10, 01:50 PM
Heebs Heebs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 134
I'd go for the Phenom x4 if this is a secondary rig. Cheapest option and will still give you plenty of power.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-10-10, 02:20 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
For gaming the I3 is a steal. You can overclock the nuts off of it and it's cheap. Will leave you more cash for a gpu.

Also consider the Phenom x2. Again a lot of games don't use four cores so it's a waste of cash (multi cores are good for media encoding and so on). Also if you get the right mobo theres a good chance you can unlock the other two cores.

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/amd-p...mhz-85w-retail

There's your 965 with two cores disabled. 50/50 chance they're working but that CPU is more than enough for gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-10-10, 03:10 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

For gaming the I3 is a steal. You can overclock the nuts off of it and it's cheap. Will leave you more cash for a gpu.

Also consider the Phenom x2. Again a lot of games don't use four cores so it's a waste of cash (multi cores are good for media encoding and so on). Also if you get the right mobo theres a good chance you can unlock the other two cores.

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/amd-p...mhz-85w-retail

There's your 965 with two cores disabled. 50/50 chance they're working but that CPU is more than enough for gaming.
HA wonder where you got that from eh?

Not sure if the main folders would agree but you are probably better off saving the money and getting a cheap low power CPU and getting a second GPU

(game on one fold on one, then when you are not gaming fold on both)
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-10-10, 04:41 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Yeah after doing some research on it the I3 is basically a E8400 sort of thing that overclocks easy due to 32nm. So a good choice for a budget gamer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-10-10, 05:09 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Yeah after doing some research on it the I3 is basically a E8400 sort of thing that overclocks easy due to 32nm. So a good choice for a budget gamer
Id says its faster than an e8400 due to completely different architecture and must not forget the hyperthreading.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-10-10, 07:50 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
Ok I have decided to go the following and take AlienALX advice and go for the OC'd i3 option.

INTEL CORE i3 530 2.93GHz 4MB

GEIL 4GB KIT BLACK DRAGON C8 DDR3 1600MHZ

ASUS P7P55-LX DESKTOP MOTHERBOARD

THERMALTAKE 430W OEM POWER SUPPLY

WD CAVIAR GREEN 1.0TB 7200/64MB/SATA2

ANTEC THREE HUNDRED GAMING CASE

and I already have the following CPU cooler

Thermaltake Contac 29 CPU Cooler
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-10-10, 08:05 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Id says its faster than an e8400 due to completely different architecture and must not forget the hyperthreading.
Ahhhh so *that's* what makes it different from the new budget Pentium chip. I see. For the life of me I could not spot a difference in the spec.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.