Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-10-10, 10:36 PM
McDoogle McDoogle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Just under a year ago (still in warentee) i bough a Nvidia XFX GTS 250 1GB. Everything has worked perfectly fine since i got it, even turned the fan up to 100% all the time to keep it cool.

Then whe i turned my computer on yesterday, it automaticly went straight to the onboard graphics card, despite the bios saying that its the PCI express as default. Tried resetting bios etc etc etc

I even tried unplugging the power and keeping it in the PCI express socket to see if the motherboard would complain, and it just acted if it didnt exist. Unfortunatly, i dont have another working computer with a PCI express slot, so i cant simple see if its the motherboard or not.

And suggestions before i send it back?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-10-10, 11:23 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
have you done a BIOS update

driver update

can you see it in device manager
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-10-10, 11:24 PM
McDoogle McDoogle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Already updated the bios, and i cant see it inside the device manager (comes up with the onboard card) so cant update the drivers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-10-10, 11:25 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
have you taken it out and re-seated it

how would you get a display on the 250 if its using onboard or have you got it plugged into the mobo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-10-10, 11:28 PM
McDoogle McDoogle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Ive already reseated it about 5 times, ive got the onboard for VGA and the GC for DVI into the monitor(supports both), all my monitor, motherboard and graphics card support both DVI and VGA and ive tried switching around etc. Even with the onboard not pluged in, and i switch to DVI on the monitor, theres nothing, monitor acts as if the computer is turned off.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-10-10, 11:32 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
ok turn off the comp and remove the batt take out the power leade and flick the PSU switch.

then plug the DVI cable into the GPU but do not plug anything into the onboard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-10-10, 12:06 AM
McDoogle McDoogle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Tried that, also just tried changing the power cables, still nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-10-10, 12:43 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
so i assume you just have the one slot.

try and borrow another card to rule out the mobo

and then RMA it fella
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-10-10, 12:45 AM
McDoogle McDoogle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Unforatunely, i dont have another card either, and no one i know near me is that interested in comps, so they dnt have offboard cards :S

This is the second card in 2 years that this has happend, first time , it was a 9600GSO which caused a short so my comp didnt start fullstop(was out of warentee). Im starting to loose trust in nvidia now
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-10-10, 10:58 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Sounds like it's brown bread to me mate.

What PSU are you using?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.