Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-10-10, 11:24 AM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,285
Getting water down to none conductive and 0 TDS / 0 us !

Why? .... Because we can if we try ...

I have been working with a mate and after lots of help we have been playing getting water down to 0 TDS / 0us in my home factory. Its been a bit of a struggle but were getting there.

Now i have 3 different types of TDS meter's but the one in the shoots is the most accurate and was calibrated with 3 different levels of TDS liquids from 1000 TDS to 550 TDS and last but not least 150 TDS. We also calibrated the other two meter's as well but this one seems to be the best of them all for readings.

So any way first we start off with the TDS Reading of the tap water as you can see its reading at 166 TDS which to be honest as tap water goes is not that bad in comparison to a friend’s house which we read at 650 TDS.



Now we ran 100 Ltrs of water though our system which took about 2 hours and we got the TDS down to 5.1 which is the same as most good branded DI water and it is what is used in most liquids for PCs. However it still isn’t good enough for me.



So after running another 250 Ltrs though the system we got the TDS down to 2.3 TDS which means were getting closer to the target



Now after loads of messing and increasing the Pressure to the system to the max we could go at the time of 60 PSI and another 500 Ltrs of water we finally hit our target..

OTDS and 0uS – real none conductive water... (well till dust gets to it any way )





However this is fluctuating between 0.00 and 0.03 which to me isn’t good enough as i want constant 0 uS and 0 TDS. So i’ve just order a new pump which should bring the pressure up in our system to maximum of 160PSI and Hopefully give us a constant 0 TDS supply.

Ill post up results once its come.

Btw way the system im using first starts off with A distiller then thought a reverse osmosis then though a Di system. I will be all so getting a new UV system to throw in there as well later on down the line just to cover all aspects of purifying the liquids down ... I love messing with this stuff haha.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-10, 06:11 PM
MeltedDuron MeltedDuron is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SE London
Posts: 431
Send a message via AIM to MeltedDuron Send a message via MSN to MeltedDuron
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam sandler
Now that's some high quality H2O!
Loving your stuff dude

Reps to first one who posts which movie that quote was from
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-10, 07:19 PM
lappy74 lappy74 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 237
The Waterboy!
__________________


Nice little fact: The diameter of our Galaxy, in miles, is almost the same number as the number of bits in 66831 TB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-10, 07:28 PM
Domowoi Domowoi is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
Well but if you run that in your water cooling loop it gets more again ,doesnt it? Because of dust and production residue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-10, 08:46 PM
MeltedDuron MeltedDuron is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SE London
Posts: 431
Send a message via AIM to MeltedDuron Send a message via MSN to MeltedDuron
Quote:
Originally Posted by lappy74 View Post

The Waterboy!
Reps for you my man

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark View Post

Well but if you run that in your water cooling loop it gets more again ,doesnt it? Because of dust and production residue?
I don't want to speak for mayhem here but i'd imagine if you washed out the loop thoroughly and maybe even sterilised it there'd be nothing to get in the water. Definitely an interesting thought though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-10, 04:59 PM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark View Post

Well but if you run that in your water cooling loop it gets more again ,doesnt it? Because of dust and production residue?
The idea for the liquid is to give you the best you can get at a affordable price and tbh it doeskin get any better than this simples .....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.