Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-10-10, 03:48 PM
Tankou Tankou is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 25
Hi all,

I'm new here and I was looking for help overclocking my i7 980X. I haven't done a lot of overclocking but because the 980X has an unlocked multiplier I know that you overclock it differently. If anyone could share the secretes of 980X overclocking I would like to hear them.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-10-10, 04:01 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tankou View Post

Hi all,

I'm new here and I was looking for help overclocking my i7 980X. I haven't done a lot of overclocking but because the 980X has an unlocked multiplier I know that you overclock it differently. If anyone could share the secretes of 980X overclocking I would like to hear them.
Actually you overclock it exatly the same way as a normal i7. The unlocked multi is just for noobs to just wang up high, or for hardcore clockers that are using subzero cooling. For the average enthusiast the 980x brings nothing to the table the 970 doesnt have.

Sooooo long and short of it is you clock it in the same way as a normal i7 dude
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-10-10, 04:10 PM
Tankou Tankou is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 25
thanks tinytomlogan, that clears that up for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-10-10, 04:12 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tankou View Post

thanks tinytomlogan, that clears that up for me.
http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.p...noctua-nh-d14/

take a look at that thread fella, just remember that you need to work out the lowest possible vcore not just settle for something that seems to work.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-10-10, 06:59 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The unlocked multi is just for noobs to just wang up high
thats me a noob then
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-10-10, 07:00 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
Quote:

thats me a noob then
u said it

__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-10-10, 08:41 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

thats me a noob then
The amount of time you are on the forums you'd think youd have learnt by now
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-10-10, 09:01 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
i opend a thread lol,dunno RAM just seems ok on its own lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.