Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-10-10, 12:47 PM
ISHKA3000 ISHKA3000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Hi TimeToLiveCustoms great videos mate keep it up its is great to have such in depth and strait to the point review on all the hardware you cover i have been especially interested in the i7 950 review you did and recently set one up on a rampage 3 gene with the

Corsair

CMT6GX3M3A2000C8 6GB (3x2G Dominator GT ram and cant wait for your bios tutorial-review ¿ for o.cing the i7 950 i seem to be having trouble getting it to run the at 4ghz~over~2000mhz on the ram i am also running the latest bios on the board but still no luck i managed to get the ram to run at 1866 but i really want to have it running at the rated spec 2000mhz i have a lian li pc-x1000 case running on air with a zalman cnps10x extreme on the 950

do you think this would be safe to be running it at 4ghz ? would you happen to have any pointer's for the bios specs for my configuration please i do need some help with understanding the right levels for the o.c

if you could help me out i would appreciate it very much so. Yes i do under stand that every rig is different but i just though with your wide range of testing and expertise you might have some idea of what basic setting's need to be implemented to the bios to achieve a 4gb clock on the 950. Hey do you have an eta on the bios review for the i7~950~ ¿ Cant wait brov please reply thank$.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-10-10, 02:09 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,967
Right I need your full system specs and what settings you have in BIOS aswell dude as atm I havnt the foggiest what you have done or what we are working with.

Give me asmuch info as possible - bios wise everything, and every part in your rig.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-10-10, 02:48 PM
ISHKA3000 ISHKA3000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
CPU Make:

Intel

GPU Make:

Nvidia

CPU:

I7 950

Motherboard:

RAMPAGE 3 GENE

Graphics Card:

GTX480

Memory:

Corsair Dominator GT 6GB (3x2G 2000mhz CMT6GX3M3A2000C8

Cooling:

Zalman cnps10x extreme

Power Supply:

SuperFlower Golden Green 80+ Gold 1000W Power Supply

Operating System:

Windows-7-64bit

That's the specs of what i am running and it is all running @ stock atm

as for bios setting's I would like to start from scratch what would you sagest ¿

is this enough info ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-10-10, 02:55 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISHKA3000 View Post

CPU Make:

Intel

GPU Make:

Nvidia

CPU:

I7 950

Motherboard:

RAMPAGE 3 GENE

Graphics Card:

GTX480

Memory:

Corsair Dominator GT 6GB (3x2G 2000mhz CMT6GX3M3A2000C8

Cooling:

Zalman cnps10x extreme

Power Supply:

SuperFlower Golden Green 80+ Gold 1000W Power Supply

Operating System:

Windows-7-64bit

That's the specs of what i am running and it is all running @ stock atm

as for bios setting's I would like to start from scratch what would you sagest ¿

is this enough info ?
Well have you done any tests to see what voltages your chip needs? You said you had been clocking already?
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-10-10, 03:24 PM
ISHKA3000 ISHKA3000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
yes i have tried a few oc's but didn't really trust the source of info i was using so i didn't really test the voltages properly i was to worried that i might stuff up my hard wear ? so yeah i was booting to desktop but that was about it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-10-10, 04:03 PM
kilobravo kilobravo is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,002
Send a message via MSN to kilobravo
Hi ISHKA3000.I dont know if this will help.

Followed one string with arfur shrunkunpecker and Tom.

very tutorial for me.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-10-10, 04:08 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,967
http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.p...noctua-nh-d14/

read that thread, your cpu should not need any more than 1.3v on the cpu. Lowest possible vcore is what you are looking for. You need to read the thread carefully and make sure that you are willing to put the hours in to get it right.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-10-10, 04:26 PM
ISHKA3000 ISHKA3000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
ok great thanks for the reply from both of you i will have a go like Arfur Schrunkunpecker is and get this shit nailed is it ok to follow that test and bump up my ram to the spec of 2000mhz that is what it is supposed to run at but my board will only do that as an overclock will the volts that i need to run remain the same running my ram at 2000mhz ¿ hey whats your eta on the 950 bios vid!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-10-10, 04:29 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISHKA3000 View Post

ok great thanks for the reply from both of you i will have a go like Arfur Schrunkunpecker is and get this shit nailed is it ok to follow that test but bump up my ram to the spec of 2000mhz that is what it is supposed to run at but my board will only do that as an overclock will the volts that i need to run remain the same ¿ hey whats your eta on the 950 bios vid!
BIOS will be Asus, as it makes no difference to the CPU. Id get your system running stable at 4ghz with 1600mhz ram first as you need to do it all in stages where you dont really know enough to narrow down problems if you change everything.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-10-10, 04:38 PM
ISHKA3000 ISHKA3000 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
ok i will try that first then and will keep you posted thanks eta on the 950 bios vid! is LoL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.