Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-10-10, 03:51 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
Alright, my friend is talking me into lapping my AMD 965, AND my Noctua NH-D14. I am heavily considering it because of the HUGE drops in temps my friend got on his AMD 955, also with the Noctua. he went from 35c idle down to 32c idle, and 48c load down to 45c load. I remember seeing him do it and it is most defiantly time consuming and you do have the risk of damaging your CPU, but it seems to be worth it in the long run. Just want some here say from my fellow Overclockers. I am at 4.0ghz and i want the absolute BEST temps i can get out of my NH-D14, is it worth it?

__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-10, 04:25 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
any warranty left on the cpu? if so kiss that goodbye plus ull obviously lose that on the nh-d14 aswell
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-10, 04:31 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

any warranty left on the cpu? if so kiss that goodbye plus ull obviously lose that on the nh-d14 aswell
yea i am aware of that. i generally break all warranties on all my things. if it breaks it breaks, ill get a new one or ill re-fabricate it if possible. PC parts are a cheap investment for me.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-10-10, 06:00 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
I have done it on a CPU cooler but not the CPU because You just don't know how far you can lap it before you stuff it, will do it one day.

Here is a quote from the Notua website

"Why doesn't the bottom of the NH-U coolers have a polished, mirror like finish?

Bearing in mind that the majority of today's PC enthusiasts uses high-viscosity thermal compounds, the bottom-surface of the NH-U coolers is optimised for the use with this type of thermal pastes. The micro-grooves on the surface of the NH-U coolers' base ensure that high-viscosity thermal compounds are dispersed to a uniform thin layer across the whole contact area and that no air pockets remain between the cooler and the CPU. With a polished, mirror like surface, the risk of uneven dispersion is much higher. As too thick layers of thermal paste and air pockets drastically deteriorate heat transmission, the micro-grooves are is of vital importance to the overall cooling performance of the NH-U coolers when used with today's high-viscosity thermal pastes."
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-10-10, 06:50 PM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
that quote that you said from noctua is an obvious classic lazy business move. i like noctua allot, but that whole thing was just an excuse on why they didnt lap it in order to drop the price, all big companies do that so it doesn't look like they tarnished there reputation. there is no such thing as thermal paste that will be equal to lapping and using a high quality thermal compound.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-10-10, 07:09 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
Yeah your probably right the NH-D14 being the best CPU air cooler on the market probably isn't any thing to stand by.
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-10-10, 07:52 PM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

Yeah your probably right the NH-D14 being the best CPU air cooler on the market probably isn't any thing to stand by.
that sounds like a smart ass remark. i have an NH-D14 and i love it. just because you make the best single product doesnt mean you cant cheap out on your other products. and the fact they do have the best air cooler on the market pretty much blinds people about business practices they do. Noctua is a business, and they ONLY EXIST to make money, yea they can have other priorities but there main is getting your money. so they higher people that i call "bull shiiters" to make up excuses like they did there so it doesnt look like they cut corners, and since they do have the best air cooler on the market people will be more likely to believe it. and the NH-D14 is lapped BTW. i have a degree in business, its what i do do
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-10-10, 08:58 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
Yeah I tend to have large sarcastic nature at times

Yeah most business do but they also work on reputation and noctua has a good thing going not to stuff it up.

But at the end of the day there is only one way to find out

If you do do it, do a review on it with lots of before and after tests.
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-10-10, 09:21 PM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,821
well considering i am already getting temps in the low 30s at 3.9ghz on my amd 965 i really do not see the need to lap yet. i might do it when summer comes around and it hit 120f out side.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-10-10, 07:06 PM
ZodiarK ZodiarK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 90
i have done it on a E2140 was impressed with the results took 3 hours though -.-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.