Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-10-10, 01:40 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,819
well as some of you may know my Noctua NH-D14 broke, and i am using a corsair H50 currently. i am thinking about getting rid of this closed loob for something big and shiny . i want a aircooled system that is better than my H50, and i am stuck between the D14 and the Prolimatech Megahalems. they are both shiny! i also plan on sticking 2 2000RPM fans on the Mega in push pull, and will end up using stock fans on the D14. Price is not an issue for me, but i do want to get the best and i see review after review going back and forth on which one is better. please help!

__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-10, 01:40 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,819
. idk why it did that ?!
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-10, 02:48 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
well if you do not wanna use the DH14 again then the megahalms is the step down IMO coupled with some HF fans it shines even more

it just wont be as good as the dh14
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-10, 03:27 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
rma on the nh-d14?
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-10, 04:00 AM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

rma on the nh-d14?
i will RMA the D14 if i cant find a better cooler.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-10, 09:31 AM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
there isnt realy a better than d14, as said above the mega is a step down
__________________
i7 970 - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green 1.3v in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 | R9 290 | Samsung Evo 250GB - 1GB/s
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| 2x EK 580 blocks | Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-10, 10:03 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,333
What ram you got dude?
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-10, 10:27 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
In his profile..

1333 Super Talent
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-10, 07:12 PM
KING_OF_SAND's Avatar
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,819
yea my ram is heat sink less. i plan on putting on some low profile heat sinks on it though.
__________________
AMD rig



Intel Nvidia rig

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-10, 03:14 PM
SiN SiN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 159
RMA the Noctua.

There is nothing better than it right now, unless you want to get a custom loop.
__________________
[Intel] Core i5 2500k @ 3.3 Ghz / [Cooler Master] Hyper 212 Plus / [Gigabyte] Z68MA-D2H-B3

[Corsair] 8 GB XMS3 DDR3 1600 MHz / [Diamond] 6950 2 GB GDDR5 (850/1450) / [XION] 600w

[Cooler Master] Thermo Regulator (Elite 341 Mod) / [HP] w2408 24" (1920x1200) / [Realtek] ALC889

[Microsoft] Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.