Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-09-10, 04:22 PM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
"Intel looks to allow users to unlock features in lower-end CPUs...for a fee."

Continue Reading

__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-09-10, 06:02 PM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
Posted, sorry for the delay.
__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-09-10, 06:38 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,729
I kind of like this idea. What's going to stop enthusiasts from "unlocking" these features down the road for free? It will be like unlocking shaders on video cards or additional cores on AMD X2.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-09-10, 07:10 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,609
how do you unlock shaders the 460 has some extra ones that can be unlocked
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-09-10, 07:21 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Hahahaha what a load of crap.

How does the saying go?

You can have a gold plated Rolls Royce, as long as you pay for it..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-09-10, 07:24 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

how do you unlock shaders the 460 has some extra ones that can be unlocked
I don't know if you can on current generations of cards. I was more referring to the past.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-09-10, 07:35 PM
SnW's Avatar
SnW SnW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,931
I find this pretty meh to,

btw isn't there going to be a very easy go around
__________________
sig update v1.1.

The Iron is the best antidepressant I have ever found. There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength. Once the mind and body have been awakened to their true potential, it’s impossible to turn back.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-09-10, 12:01 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

I don't know if you can on current generations of cards. I was more referring to the past.
Where you could simply remove a pin or add in some copper trace to jump pins

But yes, they are far far smarter than that now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-09-10, 01:02 AM
SiN SiN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia, United States
Posts: 159
Why?

That is fail, it is nothing like unlocking AMD chips.
__________________
[Intel] Core i5 2500k @ 3.3 Ghz / [Cooler Master] Hyper 212 Plus / [Gigabyte] Z68MA-D2H-B3

[Corsair] 8 GB XMS3 DDR3 1600 MHz / [Diamond] 6950 2 GB GDDR5 (850/1450) / [XION] 600w

[Cooler Master] Thermo Regulator (Elite 341 Mod) / [HP] w2408 24" (1920x1200) / [Realtek] ALC889

[Microsoft] Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-09-10, 01:06 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,969
I can see 'keygens' further down the road tbh just like with software. Could be interesting if for arguments sake the i5 760 has HT hidden/disabled though and you just need the right code to unlock it. Could be fun times.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.